Positive Pep Talk

Karen Thang
Adaptability 101
Published in
2 min readFeb 27, 2018

Although this is not an experiment but rather a change in lifestyle, I tried a new method in improving my skills in being adaptable. Before doing this project, if something was suggested to me that was something I had never done before, I would automatically write it off, find something bad about it and try to find any reason not do it. However, for this week I decided to be more open minded when it comes to trying new things and give myself a positive self-talk so that I will be more willing to do it.

Before coming to my current school, I was attending another university almost an hour and a half away. When I started attending this school I had a hard time adapting to the environment because it was completely different from my previous school and I had a hard time socializing with other people because of this. I decided to put this into practice and already I ave seen a great improvement in not only my attitude towards school but also others when it comes to meeting and getting to know others.

It was very difficult at the beginning as I got into the bad habit of finding every flaw I could in whatever I did not feel like doing or came up with an excuse so I did not have to do it. Now, I try to find the positives or ways it could benefit me in the long run so that I could push myself in connecting with others and getting involved with the school community. Ever since I started changing my perspective on things, I gained so many friendships I never expected to acquire since I initially arrived.

I will continue to practice this method of thinking so that I don’t end up closing myself off from opportunities that may benefit me in the long run. I have developed a more positive outlook in life in general and I plan to continue on seeking positivity in every decision I make. If I had not changed my perspective and chose to continue seeing the flaws in every activity that was suggested to me, I would not have met one of my closest friends who is picture below.

--

--