A little about myself

Jared Kish
Adaptability: Important Workplace Skill
2 min readSep 22, 2017

As you can see, my name is Jared. This blog will be about adaptability and what that means. I find this soft skill very interesting because I’ve recently found that it is one of my strengths. However, I feel I haven’t quite tapped into the potential of possessing this skill and would like to do more research on it to help me do so. Being able to adapt not only quickly, but well, is a very beneficial skill for anyone in the workplace and in everyday life. You will be given new challenges in your job, stuff you’re not comfortable with, and being able to take that on will give you a competitive edge. I plan to move away from Buffalo after graduating UB and adaptability will help me tremendously in doing so. Moving to a new city and starting a new job will be extremely stressful, but in improving this soft skill, it will make the transition much easier. I will certainly be practicing this skill in all new courses that I take here at UB. I am also being given more responsibility in the workplace so I will be able to practice it there. I will obviously be doing some research on the skill as I have mentioned and that will help me learn how to properly utilize it. It is just as watching film in sports if any of you have played a sport in high school or college. You look to people who have mastered the skill in order to truly understand how you may apply it. I also plan on looking at past experiences in order to see how I may have been able to adapt to the situation better in order to obtain a more successful outcome. I look forward to posting my findings for all of you to see and also learn from the skills you all are researching.

--

--