Keeping an open mind

Carly Gugino
adaptability
Published in
2 min readMar 5, 2018

As a closing to my series of blog posts, I thought I’d reflect on how adaptability has changed my thinking over the past few weeks.

After researching the topic and reading others thoughts, I’ve come to the conclusion that you need to go through life with an open-mind. No, you don’t need to accept everything you’re told. BUT, you should at least hear someone out before making rash decisions. My previous problem was that even though I would accept the changes being made in the workplace, I was always hesitant to follow directions the first time. If I continued to act like this, it could’ve be detrimental to my future career. As I’ve stated before, employer’s love individuals that they can mold. You want to stand out as a team player and as someone everyone can count on in difficult situations.

I realized that going into my current job afraid of new changes would not help me in the long run. I was starting to walk into work angry everyday and I knew that something needed to change. I took a step back and reflected on recent events. What I noticed was that every time there as an implemented change, it actually ended up turning out well. Employer’s may not always have their employee’s best interest at heart, but they strive to make their business more profitable — which actually benefits you. I’ve taken this new open-minded mindset and put it to work.

Now when asked how I feel about a certain situation, I pause for a second before I respond. This strategy helps me collect myself and my thoughts quickly before saying something I could possibly regret in the future. After a few seconds, I’ve found myself smiling and agreeing to changes because I want to see how they’ll play out. Excited about change? Yes. Due to my new open-mindedness, I’ve actually been approached by the owners of the restaurant I work at multiple times because they’re actually interested in my feedback. I could get used to this.

Basically, when you keep your mind open to change, great things can happen. Now, if it’s completely against what you believe, don’t be afraid to stand up for yourself — respectfully. Sometimes people don’t anticipate the reaction they’ll get, but it’s good to hash that out in the beginning rather than the end of the project. Ask questions if you need clarification. And grow. Adapting to the situations at hand could have a tremendous impact on your future. When you adapt and accept something you previously didn’t, you’re taking the time to learn and in turn grow with your company.

Good luck!

--

--