Buying Your Food Locally Is A Good Alternative To The Grocery Store

Plus tips on how to find local food sources even during a pandemic

Mikey Sackman
Adapting in Place

--

image by ESB Professionals on Shutterstock

One of my favorite things about summer is access to an abundance of fresh fruits and vegetables. I’m fortunate to live in an area of Washington state where orchards and small farms can be found around every bend in the road.

Farmers’ markets are open at least twice a week from April through October. So what I don’t grow myself, I can purchase from one of our local vendors.

But with Covid-19 still spreading through communities, this year is going to be different.

I know one of the Farmers’ Markets has opened with some specific safety guidelines to follow. I haven’t been there yet. I’m still unsure of whether or not it is worth the risk.

Considering that I continue to go to the grocery store about once a week, I thought it really isn’t very different than stopping by the Farmers’ Market. So I decided to take a good look at the benefits of buying locally grown food and what options there were to obtain it.

Clarifying local

First I want to clarify what I mean by buying locally. Locally grown generally indicates the food is grown within a 100-mile radius of where…

--

--

Mikey Sackman
Adapting in Place

A country gal sharing perceptions on life thru the lense of rural living. Check out my blog at RuralWriter.com.