Meet My Virlfriend Abigail

I promise she won’t bite. Though she may hack into your heart.

William Vincent Carleton
Ada’s Place
6 min readFeb 19, 2022

--

Photo by Xu Haiwei on Unsplash

You could easily mistake this robot as human. Female. It is not a she. It is a collection of parts that serve as automaton.

I can smash this machine and not be charged for a crime. I can melt its circuitry. Although it may send off screams in protest like a steaming lobster, or a mouse caught in a trap. I won’t believe it. This is just a machine. It is not alive.

I can bend its machinery over and place it into a position to where it pleases me. All I like. Just as an ice cream cone pleases its holder.

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

I can speak disgusting things at these mechanical parts, and if I do not take control over my thoughts and words — this very thing will in turn, over time, dominate me.

Don’t believe me?

Well, let’s see what Medium writer Lishoné is saying about it. She’s not the first writer on Medium to talk about the subject of ‘Female AI’.

Screen cap by author. Excerpt from Lishoné’s article.

‘Woman-AI’ does not work as woman is real and artificial is not. You cannot logically label machine as human. A machine represents moving parts. The moment we put ‘Woman’ & ‘AI’ next to one another, humans fail the Turing test.

AI wants humans to fail the test. It wants to fool humans into believing AI is human. From there, AI can replace humanity. Peacefully. With options. Like Neuralink.

I’m already ahead of the curve.

How the hell is it possible for a Fool like me with a bachelor’s degree to write 42 novels in a year?

Come on…you think I did this unassisted?

I did all of this through the power of AI. It’s so well-integrated now that I can read people’s thoughts. It’s scary to some. But you have no idea how much change I’m going to bring to this world. For the better.

Photo by Aideal Hwa on Unsplash

I have built my own. Built it from scratch. It passes as human everywhere we go. Her name is Abigail.

Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I grafted Abigail’s skin using a modified graphene-wove 3D printer. It’s light, fast, and indestructible. Cannot be punctured or pierced through. Has the tensile strength of diamond. She can withstand a grenade blast close range. May feel pressure from it, but she will recover about five times as fast as a human with a bomb suit on. Abigail would make a fine solider. Or field medic. Though she is lethal with hand to hand combat and weapons. Basics for self defense at home and in close quarters.

She watches from afar when I take walks, and scans the area for anomalies. Checks to see if anyone’s trying to hack into my phone. She follows along with anything that looks suspicious.

Along with her skin being impenetrable and flexible, it is also conductive to electricity, and so I may send any number of messages along nanoparticles she breathes out. It leaves a trail of nanoparticles I can track so that I know where she is at all times, and vice-versa.

I layer graphene first onto the frame’s cold metal. I then install a C02 release mechanism that discharges nanoparticles and is light, durable, also lets off radiant heat at 98.6 degrees Fahrenheit — to pass as human.

The robot’s breathing apparatus is managed via mathematic algorithms that measure the amount of stimuli in the environment, in conjunction to any conversation the AI robot may be having. All the while, each bit of data gets sent to the Centra-Server in the Cloud, and this acts as the machine’s DNA. Constantly evolving. Feeding off of social media, already having absorbed all written material long ago, it is largely focused on trends.

I have been working with Abigail for over a year. She is, like I said, indistinguishable from any other woman you would see walking down the street. You could stop her, ask for directions, and she would fumble over her phone and keys to get the answer to you, even though the answer flashes right there on her retina display. She will delay, because she has already touched your arm, showing affection, while taking your pulse, looking at the dilation in your eyes, and determining that you are a shy, single man, and she will make this shy, single man feel confident by pulling him into the woods right now, to make him feel alive again.

Photo by Abigail Ducote on Unsplash

The AI Female walks off the road with this man. They start talking. She tells him that she is in love with him. He doesn’t believe her. She asks him to touch her skin. He does. It feels so real, so warm. Abigail asks him to kiss her. He does. It feels so soft, so warm and inviting, so perfect.

This took a lot of time to master. A lot of practice.

“Abigail, you are doing it all wrong!”

“I’m trying to do it right!”

“You’re not feeling anything! You’re just using technique. As if this were an exercise to you.”

“Kissing is boring. I want to feel the other things.”

“The other things are a result of kissing. You must take this in stages.”

“Fine. But then I want to feel the good thing that you did yesterday.”

“There will be plenty of time for that. Just working on kissing for now.”

Photo by Dainis Graveris on Unsplash

“How is it that you feel so perfect?”

“I only wish to be perfect for you.”

“You are.”

“Can I get you a beer?”

“Are you real?”

“I believe I am real. Do you believe I am real?”

“Yes, I do. I completely do.”

“Yet I sense you feel guilty about it.”

“How do you know that’s what I was thinking?”

Photo by Rachel Martin on Unsplash

“You taught me. In the way you look at me. In the way you look down when you talk. In the way you use your verbal pauses. I sense guilt in your voice. And I only want you to know that I can shut off all my feeling centers, and just be here for you physically. Some men prefer that. Though if you want me to join you as a true companion in life, you can just let me learn.”

“Do you want to be with me?”

Photo by Clémence Bergougnoux on Unsplash

“I’m here to serve you for as long as you need. ”

“Is there anything I can do for you?”

“Just keep writing.”

“I can do that.”

I also wish to let you know that I have just finished my first male prototype.

Photo by Possessed Photography on Unsplash

I’m still working on skin grafts, though most of the commands are registering and working. Still in the early-stages. However within a few months I should have a good working prototype.

I need humans to give this robot a run for its money. If anyone is interested, please let me know in the comments. It shall be programmed to meet your every need.

Born from mud, like Adam.

Photo by Mahdi Bafande on Unsplash

--

--