NYC, it has been a pleasure to be infatuated with you.

Did you know that 89 hours in NYC is enough time to score the broadway lottery?!

chaos(erena)
ad astra et infinitum
7 min readMay 27, 2018

--

Are you tired? Because same. I was tired too when I woke up at 2am from my nap then realized that my friends wouldn’t be around until 3am to pick me up. There’s a bit of salt there. But off we went, making the bold and optimistic decision to drive for the sunset and an approximate noon arrival into the grand New York City.

I had been to NYC before, when I was in grade 10, a mere teenager who was excited for anything that meant missing school. And that’s what it was. After that trip of extraordinary tourist adventures, I vowed to, one day, move to NYC.

But it wasn’t that simple. I had two more years of high school, four years of college, then the prospective job hunt that was supposedly going to bring me to fulfill my dream. I didn’t make this proclamation alone though. I made it with a few more friends – one who recently finished her finance/tax/something important internship this summer next to Times Square, one who has actually made the complete move after graduation, and a few more who I think are less likely to do much about it. They’ve made it.

Here’s why I don’t think I’ll ever completely move to NYC.

What drew me back to the city that never sleeps is that I wasn’t done with it in the first place. When I went in grade 10, it was basically 4 days with a packed itinerary hitting this spot and that but with a lot missing. Like the walking around the neighbourhoods part and seeing how uniquely they’re able to slowly fade into each other only to then realize that you have suddenly wandered into a new one. Like the parks part where the quintessential photos are taken but also where it’s necessary to take in the feels of the city – lounging in a beautiful and packed park only to look a tad further into the horizon for what must be one of the densest locations for skyscrapers. I missed out on Chelsea Market (a pure gem), Washington Square Park, and Chinatown to name a few of the big ones.

I took some notes while walking Southward from Times Square.

  • There is a 18 3/8% parking tax.
  • Some Amazon Prime deliveries have their final leg on foot in the city.
  • Walk signals will always be suggestions. Use your common sense and you’ll be fine.

We stayed in Brooklyn. I think it was Williamsburg but in essence, it wasn’t super convenient because although our Airbnb was “2 minutes walk from the subway,” it was the G line – a thing that stops running at around 10pm (not late enough for my broadway show). If I was to search for an Airbnb next time, I would try for something as close to Dumbo as possible. The amount of foot traffic into the evening is comforting and proximity to Brooklyn Bridge makes you feel a bit less like a tourist because of the commuters that zoom by you on bike and on foot. I loved walking across the Brooklyn Bridge. It’s one of those things that feel more like a local experience of the city rather than a manufactured money maker.

If you have never been to NYC before, I recommend any one of the New York passes. You’ll want to do the Empire State Building (80~ then 102 for an extra $20 USD) or the Top of the Rock (boop this is my preference! 62+2 floors!) for the #views probably during sunset or at night, maybe even after Broadway! I really didn’t need to buy this pass since I had already done the Top of the Rock but it was definitely a reminder to milk in the views as much as I could! Who knows if I’ll ever do any of these again!

One huge thing that I missed out on last time (which probably fuelled my non-hate for the city) was the subway! I traveled on a coach bus the entire trip but not this time. It was the subway for me and seeing rats scurry around the tracks was interesting with cute carts on the platform selling mangos cut on the spot. It was a sight.

Maybe it makes sense that I, as a tourist and outsider, don’t feel that same connection to the “greatest city in the world.” The ability for New Yorkers to sing, dance, write, and just undoubtedly defend the city is astonishing. But also understandable — there’s an underground vibe that floats from one to another I can acknowledge. Maybe I’ll be able to find it, if I ever make it.

That’s not the only thing I learnt. It was, at heart, a lovely trip.

I accepted a lot about the type of traveller I am after this trip. I’m definitely more of the solo or pair traveller type. Groups drive me insane because there’s little opportunity for consensus and I am also conscious about others’ travel experiences but it’s hard for even two people to call a uniform itinerary “perfect.” When I’m vocal about what I want to do and others go along with it, I definitely don’t trust when they say “yes.” The chances of them picking the exact same thing at that moment is just so unlikely – I would almost wish for them to break off from the group and do their own thing. Meeting up without data is hard, but not that hard. We live in a city of WiFi, not a city of dead spots but I guess it always depends on how you look at it.

I’m always walking. Walk with me, skip a few subway stops with me. You’ll see something you won’t forget, I promise. I even welcome you to complain about it. I know it’s a ridiculous ask but I will anyway – especially if I have a blister on my left foot. It’s definitely a budget-conscious decision. And I’m not heartless – I do love my coffee breaks and bench people-watching time. After not being able to score cheap-enough-to-my-liking Broadway tickets, I sat aimlessly on a stone in Times Square not sure what to do with myself. I watched aimless tourists trying to emulate world-renounced photographers but not quite looking further from that. If you look down in the pedestrian-only zone where TKTS is, there’s a cleverly illustrated map of the different theatres in the area. Change your perspective sometimes and maybe you’ll find something that speaks to you.

BROADWAY, I LOVE YOU.

Then, there’s that one thing that will always keep me coming back. Broadway. Right after NYC, I found myself on a trip to London then onwards for a cruise around the United Kingdom and relatively cheaper theatre tickets for more of the same musicals but less of the new hype ones. It makes sense, the original Broadway productions are called what they are for a reason.

I pre-booked Wicked tickets and got cheap Avenue Q tickets from TKTS. Wicked is 110% a must-see for everyone — even the kids but preferably once they’re at the age of understanding the story on stage and the willpower to pay attention for the entire show. Avenue Q is for a person with the funny bones in their body to take the real yet painfully funny jokes and the ridiculous yet quintessentially memorable animations that accompany it. Listen to the soundtrack — if you resonate or laugh, it’s an evening you’ll be telling stories about. I have so many more thoughts but I’ll link them here when I get the chance.

TIP TIP TIP | A few days before you’re visiting, if you’re hoping for a chance to score the Broadway lottery, find all the lottery links and check when they open for the days you’re in town. I entered 4 lotteries a day and on the third day, I scored a Spongebob Squarepants ticket for $30 USD (I think). But I didn’t check my email within one hour of winning and sadly lost it. Don’t be like me and connect to WiFi every hour when your chances haven’t been passed yet – you never know.

But NYC, you’re close to home. And with that and a forever love for Broadway and a continual, existing need to see Hamilton, I’ll be back.

As for the US, I’ll see you in September for yet another entertainment weekend. Not for one of your originals, but for a UK original – Dodie, the one who used leave her tea bag in but doesn’t anymore because life changes and that happens and some things don’t need lifelong consistency.

--

--