Life, The Universe and Everything

Legitimate Geek
ADHDAD
Published in
2 min readMar 19, 2018

Sometimes you find yourself in a place and you aren’t sure what you are doing , or more accurately what you should not be doing. Now add in the stark fear of possibly screwing up your kid’s life and you have pretty much described how I feel since the day I was blessed to have my son join my world.

Clueless Dad may be a Hollywood trope, but it never seems quite as funny when you are the star of the reality show that is life. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t regret having this role, I just wish I could get a bit of the script in advance.

My name is Matt, I’m a 40 something married man in a small town in Wisconsin. Due to the fact that I would prefer to remain married I’m not going to be talking too much about specifics with my wife. She is the greatest choice in my life and my copilot in getting through the days.

My son Alex was diagnosed with ADHD just under a year ago. That hit me a bit harder than I realized and I do think it still impacts how I view dealing with the kid on an everyday basis. I suppose I’m still form an older school of thought, when I was in class the only kids who were on medicine were the biters or firestarters (not literally but not a huge exaggeration)

I’m an information geek by nature so I found myself doing a lot of research on the issue and I’ve truly begun to realize the breadth and width of the condition. Generally speaking it doesn’t seem to impact any two children the same way. Who doesn’t love a challenge, right?

This blog will basically be my way of discussing every aspect of the life and times of me. I’m going to try to be honest abut my feelings, letting you know when I’m struggling with aspects and when I’m overjoyed with successes.

If anyone finds themselves reading this I want to state a few things in advance. The topics will be strange, the links will be plentiful, the candor will be present and hopefully the language will be safe to read while you are at work.

--

--

Legitimate Geek
ADHDAD
Editor for

I’ve been a Geek my whole life. When I was a child, being called a geek was considered mockery. These day’s it’s an internet phenomenon.