Monitoring yourself is equally important

Legitimate Geek
ADHDAD
Published in
2 min readMar 22, 2018

Today was a garbage day. We all have them and we have all survived them. They aren’t fun and you can’t do much about them but they do occur.

To start with it’s the first day after a medication dosage change. It’s certainly a potential pitfall to begin with. Luckily the kid seemed to sail through things overall.

Second, the car broke down on the way into work. Always a giant pain in the a$$ but a car is an essential part of life these days. Had to have it towed. Right now driving an ever classic golden ford Taurus loaner car and facing a $1200 bill tommorrow.

Joy, right?

I”m late for work, had to leave work early to get a loaner car and then the loaner car wasn’t even available for about an hour and a half.

By the time I’m driving home I have just had it with the day and I found myself psyching up for a possible date with Hurricane kid who may be throwing a tantrum. It really saddened me to realize that I was almost expecting it at this point because of all the problems recently.

That didn’t make me feel good. I don’t want to feel like I need to be prepared to go 12 rounds when I get home. That’s not right for me or my family. I took a few extra minutes on the drive home to just breathe a bit. They say when your only tool is a hammer you look for things to nail.

When you deal with an ADHD kid anticipating a fight, you are always going to find it. I’d rather not, I’d rather avoid it. Fights should only be there when it’s truly a battle worth picking. Somewhere I seem to have lost track of that fact and I need to get it back.

Yes, it’s important that my son be raised to follow societal conventions for the most part. Not always but he does have to know you can’t just call everyone a “Stupid Baby” and try to hit them when they disagree. That doesn’t fly in the real world.

I don’t need to prioritize a “Do as I say because I said it” attitude either. The boy is far too bright to always play follow the leader. It really wasn’t my game in school and I shouldn’t expect it to be his either.

--

--

Legitimate Geek
ADHDAD
Editor for

I’ve been a Geek my whole life. When I was a child, being called a geek was considered mockery. These day’s it’s an internet phenomenon.