Kashmira Sarode — “Now, since there is no specific idea of a modern Indian visual language, everyone is free to define their own.”

ADI Bengaluru
ADI Diaries
Published in
5 min readSep 29, 2018
Kashmira Sarode

Kashmira is an independent illustrator. After graduating from Sir J. J. Institute of Applied Art, Mumbai in 2010, she spent a few years working with design studios before doing an illustration summer residency from SVA, New York. She has been featured in prestigious publications like Pool and Kyoorius. We spoke to her about her style, process and quirks.

What kinds of different hats have you had to put on while working in a designer’s shoes? Which such role/project was most challenging?
I’ve always worked with studios with very small teams which meant doing everything from creating artwork files to going and searching for material all across the city, to being an art director and giving feedback, to sitting and compiling 200 pages of a book alone in one night. Although most of it seemed challenging at the time, when I look back, I’ve learnt so much from the process and all that education has helped me operate as a one person army for last 4 years. I’m not afraid of anything! I can take up any new project which I have never done before and would enjoy the process like a child would enjoy seeing something new! I’m forever curious to try new things.

However, if I had to mention one challenging project which was more fun than challenging, it’ll be making the stamp badges at Locopopo. We were trying to make collage artworks for badges using fluorescent papers, neon sticker, postal stamps, block printing and screen print. As crazy as the idea seemed, the sourcing of all the material was crazier! I spent two whole days lurking around every shop in Crawford and Bora Bazar markets in Mumbai looking for unique papers and spent hours at post offices looking for unique stamps. I learnt a lot about philately and I am proud to say that I have a small yet unique collection of stamps from across various countries that I’ve visited — this love for stamps stemmed out of this crazy project.

Cat zine

Fill in the blank: Being a design/creative professional is NOT carrying out a hobby everyday! It’s real work.

What would you say is the defining characteristic of “Indian” design? Do you think there is a modern visual language that is specific to India?
There are certain items which shout quintessential Indian design like the blue pottery from Jaipur or the Ajrakh, Bandej and block printed fabrics or Isabgol and other local packaging designs. Every region of India has something unique on these lines. These in their traditional forms or modernised version are truly Indian. But when it comes to graphic design or design being used in tech or anything else which is not lifestyle and accessory design, I feel like there is a vague language but its not very well defined. That’s the beauty of it, because if there were a specific visual language, everyone would be using it. Whereas now, since there is no such specific idea of a modern Indian visual language, everyone is free to explore and define their own Indian visual language.

Being creative is largely about having the courage to fail repeatedly. Could you give an example from your own experiences of a project that failed? What went wrong, and what did you learn/take away from that experience?
Recently I did something for Srishti’s Art in Transit’s 8th ‘Festival of Stories’. I was supposed to design something for the walls on both sides of the metro tracks at Cubbon Park metro station. Although the brief was very clear, and I had all the freedom to treat this as a personal project instead of a client project, I initially took the project way too seriously and created a pattern which looked exactly like the metro’s branding but in my illustration style. Which was fine — except it didn’t seem like I had brought anything new to the space, it just felt like an extension to the metro’s purple branding.

That’s when I realised that in trying not to fail, I had failed miserably! At this point, Amitabh Kumar, who had commissioned the artwork (who’s also a good friend), helped me realise what I needed to do to reverse this. The final result was received well at both ends. This was one of those projects where there was complete freedom to express myself.

I learnt that sometimes I need to just take a deep breath and do my own thing instead of trying to figure out what the other person is expecting me to do. I am hired for certain projects because they want me to be me. And this is a feeling that doesn’t come easy especially working for Indian clients who more often than not are looking for something specific.

Cubbon Park Metro

What can a student/fresh graduate and an experienced professional learn from each other in the design industry?
Perspectives. Student/fresh graduates look at everything with so much openness and curiosity where as experienced professionals go about things in a very practiced and set manners formed through the years of experience. The way each one of them breaks down information is something I find fascinating to observe. It’s lovely to coexist in this space where we have both fresh graduates and experienced professionals voicing their views and harmoniously building a community which benefits from each other.

Do you have any unusual quirks as a creative professional?
I feel like a lot of creative professionals do! Mine is shoes, I have a soft corner for creatives who wear nice shoes. It’s so hard to find a statement pair of shoes that go with your personal style. The people who do this are the ones who truly pay attention to detail. It’s really silly but I believe it!

And finally, to wrap up — How do you spend a perfect Sunday in Bangalore? Any specific recommendations or must-trys?
I absolutely love the restaurants in Bangalore! My husband and I are always on a lookout for new and unique food places to try out on Sundays. Our perfect date would start at a Brewery then dinner at an Asian style restaurant and end with a dessert at Corner House. Also we love walking around and enjoying the beautiful weather this city has!

Follow Kashmira on Instagram at @kashmira_sarode
Website: http://kashmirasarode.com/

This interview is a part of a series of conversations with designers from Bengaluru called ADI Diaries. You can find more interviews here.

Participate in Bengaluru Design Week at http://www.blrdesignweek.com/

--

--