$100 Cash Writing Contest Final Thoughts

Last Minute Questions Answered

Erica L Soerensen
Admiring Multipotentiality
3 min readJul 27, 2024

--

Author created image in Freepik

With only a few days left in July, I wanted to make sure all who were interested in the contest, had time to add final submissions.

I posted an article a couple of days ago:

It was meant to inspire my amazing Multipotentialites to enter the contest before the July 31st deadline.

When I read through some of the responses, I knew I needed to clarify a few things.

Confusing Wording

Liz Vanderwater, Heather Bradford, and Trish Nonya were concerned about the wording for submissions.

I wrote, “You may submit multiple pieces. There are no limits! However, only one submission is allowed per category.”

This does not mean you can’t submit as many times as you want. I encourage multiple submissions for each of the three categories (FOM, Non-Fiction, and Fiction). What I meant was one article or story could only be submitted for one category.

For example, you may submit three different stories for the Fiction category and two different articles for the FOM category. However, you cannot submit the same article to both FOM and Fiction categories.

Again, I would love for people to submit more than one time!

Funky Titles

Michael Chief didn’t like having to put the title with the category.

Author screenshot

He was concerned with the look of the title.

I completely get it! We know how important titles are!

Instead, you can go to the “kicker” section and add the category type. I have no problem with this at all.

I need to know if an article/story is being submitted for the contest or only for publication.

Nearly Unlimited Topics

I want to remind everyone that the topic is not specifically about multipotentiality. I had a few comments about this at the beginning of the contest.

Like the publication itself, the contest celebrates diversity. People write about different topics and that’s great!

If we all wrote about the same topics, it would be oh-so boring and not exactly original.

Poetry is the only exception for the contest but is welcome in the publication.

I reserve the right not to accept material that is overly negative and offensive. Of course, Medium Guidelines and Rules are followed to the tee. I love it here and don’t intend to risk being banned.

Final Thoughts

I have had a wonderful time being the editor for this growing publication. My goal of 100 writers is so close! We are at 98!!! I hope the final two are out there and will reach out today.

This contest has been such a great way to get involved. I look forward to narrowing down the best four submissions (for each category) and seeing which one is chosen amongst the Medium community.

Here’s to the next step!!

Author created with Canva and Bitmoji

--

--

Erica L Soerensen
Admiring Multipotentiality

Editor & Creator of Admiring Multipotentiality💗Editor of CREATIVETECH Friends/Leaders💗Writer, Reader, Supporter, Educator, Mother, Fiancé, & Positive Force!🌞