Don’t Go into the Woods at Night

Mama knows best

--

A Drabble is a 100-word fiction story. If my drabble is worthy, please stay for 30 seconds, give a clap, highlight some text, and add a comment. I’d love to know if you’ve read my work and what your thoughts are about it.

Girl in the woods.
Photo by Vladimir Tsokalo on Unsplash

“Whatever you do, don’t go into the woods at night,” warned Mama. They had just moved to a little town in Wisconsin.

“Why not,” Violet asked her mother, wrinkling her nose.

“ It’s not a nice place for little girls,” mom replied. “You just stay away from the woods, especially at night. Promise me?” she asked.

Not wanting to cause a fight, Violet said, “Okay, Mama.”

‘What did her Mama know that she didn’t?’ thought Violet. ‘I’ll just have to check it out myself,’ she reasoned.

Violet waited until Mama fell asleep, and she quietly tiptoed out the back door.

Please check out some of my favorite drabbles. You’ll be glad you did!

--

--

Georgia Gebert - Word Sprinkles!
Admiring Multipotentiality

Georgi has been writing since she could hold a crayon. Poet, dreamer, drabbler, and optimist.