Editorial Selection — Admiring Multipotentiality

Fourth Edition of “Editor’s Best Picks”

Erica L Soerensen
Admiring Multipotentiality
6 min read5 days ago

--

Author Created using Freepik

Good afternoon (at least in my little slice of the world)!!

We only have two days left of our launch contest, so please consider if you want to go for it.

Remember: You can submit more than one time. I would love to have more in the mix.

Currently, we are at:

FOM Category: 13

Non-Fiction Category: 18

Fiction Category: 9

It is important to note that I will choose the top four in each category. Then, I will send a survey to our beloved Medium Community to vote for the winners. This will naturally give extra reads to pieces that may be too far down your list to be read much anymore.

So, if you don’t win the contest, you still win with more eyes on your work!

News and Updates

I have EXCITING news to share…

We have reached over 100 writers!!!!

This definitely deserved the largest font. 😜

I’m super thrilled. This was a goal I threw out for July that I was slightly concerned with. There’s only so much control I had in this arena.

  • Yes, I could provide a fabulous launch contest.
  • Yes, I could write a few articles about it.
  • Yes, I could mention it in my daily stories.

But in the end, it was YOU who helped tip the scales. My Medium community came through — BIG TIME!

A few shout-outs are in order:

Dr James Smith wrote not one but two articles sharing about the publication and the contest. If you are interested in joining the contest but aren’t sure what to write about, his article for it gives excellent tips!

This incredible act of kindness solidified every feeling I’ve had that I am on the right writing platform. Due to his article, we got at least two new amazing writers!

Then, Scott Ninneman mentioned the publication in his article:

Next, Liz Vanderwater shared her personal experience and incorporated it with the contest:

Countless others have been so wonderful to mention the publication and contest such as Heather Bradford, Trish Nonya, Writes By Tiffany, Fleda.B, Bin Jiang, Sompa Mensah, and HyaenaDad 🧨 I am sure there are others. I apologize if I missed you.

One more piece of wonderful news to share…

I have officially applied for the Boost Nominator Program.

Also, worthy of that large font!

Now, I have no clue if it will happen, but I applied with confidence and positivity. We shall see if our burgeoning pub is what they’re looking for. Of course, I will keep you all updated.

Interesting development: Writes By Tiffany has inspired others to Drabble!! I love that we have a section for drabbles. Tiffany Ivy, Heather Bradford, and Georgia Gebert (Georgi) - Word Sprinkles! added their own. If you’ve never heard of them, they are exactly 100 words of a short story. Short on time? These are awesome reads!!

Drabbles--Admiring Multipotentiality

32 stories
magical love
House of Terror

Heads Up: I will create a section for Poetry as soon as the contest closes.

Author created on Canva

Editor’s Best Picks

These are the top 12 posted between July 22nd and 28th.

We had a total of 54 submissions during this period.

This is a new record for us — 7.71 a day on average.

I am grateful to have such high-quality writers and submissions here. You all inspire me every day! 💗

Marcia Abboud gets real with how aging affects her and those around her…Warning: Intensely Funny — May cause pee in pants:

PersonalDevelopment gives a gripping tale of their experience with war:

Trish Nonya explores the family we choose instead of the one we are born into:

BeneBeWe dives into love and the questions that come with it:

Michael Chief uses his expertise to help us understand the differences and similarities between genders:

Vince Mao is content with the changes in his life:

Heather Bradford is excited to announce to Medium her new love of Drabbles:

Wayne Shi starts with a true story that has an incredible ending and then gives amazing tips for a positive life:

JoEllen Claypool is open and honest about a very personal story that brought me to tears:

Mindful Path with Risa discusses her divorce with honesty and openness. Plus, she has helpful tips:

Stephanie Ann Grant gets into how Medium is for her and we learn a bit more about her as well:

Dorottya Becz has had a realization about why plans aren’t always the best option:

Welcoming our newest Multipotentialites

Mark Stuart Farrar (Requested to be added while I was writing this!), David S., Diane Brander, Paul - Entrepreneurial Voyager/Founder-4 startups, Sherian, Melissa Smith, Alex Cornici, Kamal O. Touhami, Fchaudhry, Georgia Gebert (Georgi) - Word Sprinkles!, Jaclyn Havington, Shruti Bhide, Jing Hu, Glenda Thompson (aka Ada James), Emerzi, Chelle, Adedolapo Sobaloju, Claire DeNike, Kimberly, Pamela Landolt Green, Denis Gorbunov, Alex Brad, Bryan Colaco, Jay Squires, Ocean S, Michael Nkansah. Tutor. Health, fitness fanatic., BeneBeWe, Author Kristine Benevento, and Mike Howard.

I almost forgot to share the publication’s stats:

We currently have 130 followers, 108 writers, and 40 submissions for the $100 Cash Writing launch contest.

I also wanted to start sharing a new statistic:

Author Screenshot

This shows the views and reads of the publication for July. It doesn’t update hourly like ours, but daily. (This is why there are no reads today.) I love stats, so I wanted to share this little nugget with my fellow Multipotentialites.

Pretty impressive, right?! I wish my personal stats looked like that. 🤣

Lastly, I wanted to tag a few people who are following the publication but aren’t yet writers. However, I’m not going to do repeat tags. It’s getting too big! I may stop doing this altogether.

If you are interested in joining our growing publication, check out the Write For Us post linked below.

Muhammad Kamran, Charity Kilbourn, Observer is my name, anneparkerpdx, Divya Arathi, Angelina Duke Alexander, Joshua Bostick, Isabel Villasmil, MRes., Foteini Ntelopoulou, and Joe Guay - Dispatches From the Guay Life!.

My final sendoff: Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you…

I am not worthy. 💗💗💗💗💗💗💗💗

--

--

Erica L Soerensen
Admiring Multipotentiality

Editor & Creator of Admiring Multipotentiality💗Editor of CREATIVETECH Friends/Leaders💗Writer, Reader, Supporter, Educator, Mother, Fiancé, & Positive Force!🌞