Why You Don’t Need to be Full-Time on YouTube

Jaeyoon Ko
adobaro
Published in
4 min readApr 26, 2023

Introducing yet another content creator who is actively using our service, adobaro.

Choively is a channel that creates and uploads unique content, ‘Cafe Vlog/ASMR’. The channel has amassed over 420K subscribers. She mainly films herself making beverages in her personal coffee shop. Her content conveys the visual satisfaction of colorful drinks and the sound of drinks and ice in a pleasant harmony during the manufacturing process. Witty subtitles are also one of her secrets to being loved by many fans.

We got to hear the story about her creative and personal life through an interview.

adoba: Thank you for your time. We know that it’s near impossible for you to find spare time.

Choively: The pleasure is all mine. I hope my story is entertaining enough for all the viewers.

Who is Choively?

adoba: When did you first start your coffee shop?

Choively: It’s been a little over 5 years now. At first, I ran another personal coffee shop for about 2 years, and now this current plae for over 3 years. I worked part-time at a cafe back in my college days, and it really suited my aptitude. I worked in an office after graduating, but I ultimately decided to open my own business because I thought it best fit who I was.

adoba: No wonder you have such extraordinary skills in making drinks. The quick and concise way without any mistakes, the refreshing sound ice would instantly make anyone fall in love the more you see them.

adoba: You’re being too kind. I actually think all coffee shop owners are capable of doing so. I am simply grateful for all the nice comments and compliments from lovelies(how Choively calls her subscribers).

adoba: Owning and managing a coffee shop must be extremely exhausting. How did you first start YouTube?

Choively: My friends sometimes showed me cafe vlogs. That’s when it first came to my mind that I could create content while working here. After watching a few content, I thought I was capable of doing it, so I started very lightly.

adoba: So you didn’t have a specific goal when you started your channel?

Choively: Yes, exactly. I wasn’t really dedicated to my YouTube channel as I am now. I never expected my content to be loved by so many people.

adoba: Have you ever thought of becoming a full-time YouTuber?

Choively: I never once thought of quitting my coffee shop. I never thought of being a full-time YouTuber even after my channel blew up, maybe due to the fact that I had started my channel very lightly. People around me also advised me not to go full-time on YouTube.

adoba: It seems like you’re working too hard for something you call light. You’re uploading content on a weekly basis!

Choively: I think I’m uploading more because I’m not a full-time YouTuber. As you can see, my content isn’t all that diverse. The time it takes to create and upload a single content has significantly decreased these days because I now have my own know-hows in terms of content production. So the whole process doesn’t really stress me out.

adoba: Maybe you’re getting the energy to run your YouTube channel from the joy of running your coffee shop.

Choively: I would beg to differ. I just consider it as part of my work. The idea of filming content for YouTube at work was amusing at first. Customers started to recognize me as they walked in. I even remember a few kids from the block saying ‘Wow~ aren’t you Choively from YouTube?’. Now, YouTube just feels like something that I am obliged to keep doing.

--

--

Jaeyoon Ko
adobaro
Editor for

Communicating with global content creators, introducing and providing new opportunities