Harnessing the Power of Influencer Marketing (a social revolution against consuming crap)

Do Ads work?

Laura Miller
Adproval Friend-terns
3 min readMay 26, 2015

--

Advertisements are everywhere — in public and mediated spaces. In almost every medium they occupy; consumers are able to expect their place and time if they have encountered those ads before.

For example, when your T.V. show breaks you know it is for commercials and you know you have roughly 3 minutes to pee! When you wait for your bus or train, you know there will be some big banner near the stop bench. Or, as is most common, when Googling something you know ads are at the top and right, or when scrolling Facebook you know there are “recommendations” for you on the right side of your page. And as soon as you know where these advertisements occur, you often stop paying attention to them.

For example. What was the last sponsored post you saw in your Instagram feed?

Not sure? Me neither. I’m sure it was there and I saw it, but I currently have no recollection of what brand or product I saw.

In world where “Advertising” carries deeply negative connotations of dishonesty and manipulation, what place does digital advertising have in consumers making purchases? How do consumers bring brands into consciousness during the purchasing process?

The answer? By listening to the people and media they trust.

I guess I always knew it, but it seems more clear than ever: Why else would I have bought this NSYNC album unless my next door neighbor Margie Schaffner thought it was the beez kneez! Just listening to the album makes me remember saving up the $12.99 needed to hear “Space Cowboy” the thousand plus times I played it.

Think about the countless times that just one person’s endorsement led to a purchase. Style, taste, preference and personality are what is most commonly expressed in social media — all things that brands can be aware of and engage with!

Social networks of trust allow consumers to be introduced to new brands and products that are enjoyed by people (publishers) they consume through media.

The content and conversations created by real people about real products is the most powerful way to market any consumer product online.

That’s why I can’t wait for the upheaval of “citizen publisher” content being connected through authentic relationships with brands. This digital strategy of engagement and contracting is called “Influencer Marketing.”

So, Who Is an Influencer?

Am I an influencer?

By definition I am an influencer because, despite its relatively small scope, I maintain profiles on social media platforms where I publish content. With that owned media, I have a network of followers who follow me because they enjoy my content.

How does and Influencer become an Advocate?

So how do I use my social networks to share stories about products I know and love, and openly try new products with my audience while maintaining my status as an honest influencer?

I realize I wouldn’t just say I liked any brand (no matter how much they paid me) because that dishonest act is exactly what my followers would not like. And as soon as someone lies to their network, they stop having the influence they once had!

What if I could use my social networks to advocate for brands that have my stamp of approval ? Then I could provide creative content for a product I care about, and my network could be happy from both my content and my fact sharing.

That’s the future of consumer decisions! That’s what I’ve been thinking about this week.

The power of influencer marketing is simple: quality products can find quality advocates who will share the power of your consumer experience with the hundreds, thousands and potentially millions of people who trust them for who they are and what they think is quality.

--

--

Laura Miller
Adproval Friend-terns

Passion for people, communication, and identity. CoFounder @Kenji, Digital Marketing Maven, Anthropology Nerd, Book + Bike Enthusiast