YOU’VE GOT MAIL (FROM ME)

Kate L'Heureux
Adproval Friend-terns
3 min readJun 24, 2015

The past two weeks I have been battling for my life with Streak and if I’m going to be negative about it, it sucked.

Positive? I’ve definitely learned a LOT about tracking and sending successful emails to large groups of people.

WHAT DID I EVEN DO?

Streak is a program we installed with our email accounts that helps send out and manage emails easier-or at least that’s the idea. Last week I wrote two email templates for 30 new influencers (bloggers) each. I hate using the word “template” because then it seems like all I had to do was insert the right email and send-not true.

After tracking the success of the first email, I shortened the second template and personalized each message so the brand recommended for each blog writer matched what their blog was generally about/what I thought they’d like. ALSO, very big deal, I figured out how to fix the old “evil eye” on my Streak so I can actually track if users even went as far as opening the email or not.

Kind of creeps me out, tracking emails, but it must be done!

so evil, but so helpful

So the second email? 0 responses.

I wondered what I was doing wrong and how roughly 60 people could all ignore something that took so much time to write.

But then I thought,

30 minutes ago I just deleted 20 emails without even opening them from my own personal inbox; so why wouldn’t a stranger do the same thing to my carefully crafted and personalized template?? For the third email I did some research beforehand and learned

  • emails sent out at night have a better chance of being read first thing in the morning
  • it’s all about squeezing the spammy flavor out of that subject line
  • make everything really spaced out and to the point (more than you ever thought possible) (add spaces to your spaces)-quick, skim-able emails are truthfully, what everyone wants.

These amazing bullet points are what brought me to my third, amazing, new, and improved email draft! Scheduled send-off: 11pm tonight! (Streak helps with that too)

Time, and the “evil eye”, will tell if I learned something from all that research and revision or not.

And now, presenting the the 6th week Official Snapchat:

Rockin’ it with J.SWISS

Comment if you have any good emailing tips // OR // what animal you like to place on people’s heads using snaps?!?

--

--