Adrian Phillips

Shooting a Gun is No Joke

Adrian Phillips
Adrian Phillips
4 min readJun 13, 2013

--

Growing up in the Australian suburbs didn’t offer me many opportunities to experiment with firearms. The closest thing I ever got to firing a real gun was playing around with my friend’s air rifle in his backyard. After a few shots and one bad ricochet that resulted in a nasty cut across my mate’s leg, that was the end of guns for me for the next 20 years.

Since moving to the USA I’ve always wondered what it was like to shoot a real firearm with live ammunition. Similar to all somewhat dangerous activities, like learning to ride a motorcycle, or bungee jumping, it was one of those things that I always wanted to do, but kept putting off. With a friend visiting from Australia, we decided to give it a go.

Arriving at the gun range we were assisted by a friendly range instructor. Not wasting anytime, we immediately disclosed that this was our first time shooting. After a brief discussion and some lively demonstrations we ended up with a 9mm Kimber .38 Pistol and an AK-47. After receiving a 30 minute crash course involving gun safety, reloading and shooting tips, we were ready for the range.

Right about now was when the nerves really started to kick in. The booths where you shoot were located on the other side of some pretty sound proof glass, however the sound of shots could be heard very clearly. Slowly opening the door into the range, I did my best to walk in confidently. Nothing quite prepares you for the “I almost shit my pants” moment of an AR-15 being fired. Even with ear protection on, the impact felt from that gun firing was not diminished.

After those first few shots several pistols and a shotgun joined in. Each sound shook me a little and made it difficult to set up. Getting a paper target secured into two small paper clips for the first time was no easy task. You see for those who haven’t had a gun go off next to them, you don’t just hear a shot, you feel it, my hands were shaking. It took me a few minutes to load the first pistol magazine resulting in at least 3 rounds bouncing across the range floor.

Eventually the pistol was loaded, I had begun to acclimate to the noise around me. I raised my firearm, lined up the target and with a not so steady grip I slowly squeezed the trigger. After the shot landed wide, I let out my breath and started to relax. Breathing more easily, my grip became more confident and my accuracy improved as I took the remaining shots. After a few turns at the pistol the AK-47 was next. Older and more raw than the pistol the rifle was one intimidating piece of machinery. More accurate and powerful, shooting the rifle was a new experience entirely, one that I probably won’t repeat for a while. In total we spent about 2 hours at the range and I came away with a few observations as a first time shooter.

Please don’t shoot me

The first was how much confidence and trust I was placing in the range instructors (who were armed) and people around me. I did feel safe, however I won’t lie that it was somewhat unnerving to have that many live weapons in the hands of both experienced and inexperienced shooters standing right next to me. I mustered up a lot of faith that day that everyone was being smart and taking their weapons seriously.

Guns are loud and powerful

Nothing quite prepares you for a gun going off next to you. Sure, you start to get used to the noise after a while, however being in a controlled environment with armed security where no one is shooting at you helps with that. I have no doubt that my being able to shoot accurately (and react calmly) would turn to absolute shit if the target at the end of the range had a gun pointed at me and was returning fire. Great respect to soldiers and officers of the law who can remain calm, professional and accurate in combat situations.

Why would anyone want to own an automatic rifle?

Shooting the AK-47 made me wonder why the hell would anyone need to own a fully functional weapon like this? Shooting at the range was interesting, but taking one (or something like it) home, I just don’t get. Unless your home is under constant threat of heavily armed mountain lions, the pistol (only a 0.38 calibre) absolutely felt like more than enough power and security one would need if they felt the need to have a gun in the house.

It’s really easy to get a gun.

At the end of my experience I asked the range instructor how I would go about purchasing a gun. In California at least, as long as you are over 21, not a convicted felon or had a history of mental illness you’re set. All I had to do was go take a written test, pay for a gun, wait a little bit and make sure I had a place to lock it up. Nowhere in this process do I actually have to learn how to shoot a gun. Isn’t that something that you would think is a critical part of any process where you end up operating a dangerous piece of machinery?

This experience certainly cemented my view on guns. They are powerful weapons that can cause major tragedy in the wrong hands. They should not be so easy to acquire. One thing’s for sure though, shooting a gun is an exciting, adrenaline charged experience that is no fucking joke. After my time at the range I hope I never experience a loaded one pointed in my direction.

--

--