Building Community vs. Network

Faith Edem
Adullthing
Published in
4 min readMay 9, 2022

Networks can lead to community or at least some great connections

I think one of the biggest challenges when it comes to post-graduate learning is understanding the importance of networks. It’s kind of a double edge sword that you have to keep building and maintaining, depending on the types of ties and connections you’re building. In this post I’ll discuss the power of starting a network, 6 degrees of separation and the pivot to building a network more palatable for the everyday Millennial and Gen Z.

Late or Slow Start

You may be late to the network circus, but its better late than never. Yes it is more ideal that you start dipping your toes in networking in undergrad so you have a fairly good working relationship with leaders in the field that you’re interested in but its okay to start whenever. Think about people that change careers, do they feel anxious about not having connections in their field? Probably, but they don’t allow that to stop them. They forge connections and start building relationships because they understand the value of networks.

This is all to say, you can start now and do not be shy about reaching out to experts. What I struggle with most is what to say to these people? What type of conversations do we have? It’s still difficult to pin point this down and provide a generalize response. I think when it comes down to it, if you keep trying and you show an enthusiasm to learn, people on average love to talk about themselves so just keep asking probing questions.

6 Degrees of Separation

In the Loop: Six Degrees of Separation

You’d be surprised who knows who in the industry you’re interested in, we are all connected. For example, my mentor connected me with a leader in the industry and a few months later I saw a friend from undergrad had taken a picture with that industry leader. Everyone is connected, even the most introverted and unsociable people. The more connections you make the more you’ll slowly realize this.

Well, okay so what about being connected? What is the value of having these connections? The value is for your future self. You never really know the net present value if you’re not accounting for the potential of your networks. This is not to make the process of networking cold and calculated but to address things in a matter of fact way. If you surround yourself with accomplished, motivated and inclusive folks you’re bound to cross paths for collaboration and engagement. There is value is networks and when that value transforms into respect, engagement and learning it can form into deeper connections such as a community. A group of folks you highly regard with a mutual appreciation for each others insights, careers and outlook. You cannot deny the impact of close ties.

How to build Community

Inc. Magazine: 6 Guidelines for Building an Online Community

I think this is difficult to cultivate for many people because they are unsure how to pivot from one to the other. I have about 5–8 individuals I would envision as my ‘community’. They are leaders who are my mentors, they are also my peers who I bounce off ideas with and respect. These are the people that I know would recommend me for an opportunity or point me to resources that could support my goals. This is what a community in career building can provide for you.

This is also a two way relationship, you are also providing to them. I’ve edited Masters entrance essays, I’ve nominated folks for awards and I have recommended people for opportunities. This is the power of community. You’re probably thinking well great for you, how do I build community? I’d say start with mentorship. They’ll be a safe foundation to start building community. Pick 1–2 folks in your industry that you want to be influenced and mentored by. Then as you build that relationship, ask them if there are contacts or opportunities that could be beneficial to your growth. For instance, one of my mentors took on the initiative to create a group-chat for likeminded young women with similar goals and I’ve forged great connections through that.

I would also recommend to not be so stiff about the connection. You already know they’re in your industry, try to connect on non-related work things as well. For example, someone in my community loves eating healthy and I shared when them when I embarked on vegetarian friendly recipes. We share meal ideas for fun. Remember, simple and friendly connections are the easiest to maintain.

Have any other questions about networking? Feel free to reach out. It’s okay to start with a network and just stay at that level. You do not need to build a community with every single person you network with. I would also point to the fact that sponsorship and community are not the same. If you’re interested in sponsorship the Harvard Business Review has great resources that explore the benefits of having such relationships. Know the difference and use one or all to contribute to your career growth! Cheers

--

--