Charting a Path Forward

Faith Edem
Adullthing
Published in
5 min readApr 26, 2022

Kill the imposter, syndrome that is!

Hello everyone!

It’s been quite some time but I feel like these gaps in time between posts are not ideal but fairly realistic of the working person. We’re constantly pulled and pushed to prioritize and at times that can be in contradiction to the path we want to chart for ourselves. Well, I’m back and in this post I’ll be free writing. It may read as a diary entry or as a thoughtful expose on where I am at this point in my career development, growth and ‘adulting’. Lets begin.

From: Lifehack ‘What is the purpose in life and how to find purpose in life’

As of recent, I’ve had the great opportunity to participate in some panel discussions and there are certain things that keep ringing true. Similar to the graphic above, finding the key alignment between what you love, what you’re paid for and what you’re great at that can contribute to what the world needs is the holy trifecta. I feel as if I’m at that point in my current career. Which is great right? Well yes of course, but no one really tells you what to do after? Now that I may have entered this golden moment in my life where I can experience true alignment what do I do now?

Well if you’re anything like me, you’re slowly realizing as content as you are, you feel as if you’re suppose to be doing MORE with this golden ticket opportunity. How can you best maximize this purpose you’ve found? Is it once in a life time? Is there a timeline on utilizing your purpose? Is there an opportunity cost that I should be wary of? Too much? Okay maybe you’re not like me and you may have not found your purpose yet. In full you may have 2/3 out of the trifecta. Who knows? You may be still searching for your purpose. From my perspective from someone who ‘thinks’ they are at that perfect alignment, I have some quick thoughts to share. They may be insightful or quiet obvious, that will be up to your judgement.

1. One too many

WSJ: The Job Advice You Wish You Knew How to Give

Your life purpose is not one singular thing, it can be multifaceted just like you. Unless you want to become an expert on one singular purpose then all hats to you but you really do not have to. I’ve come to realize that exploring things I’ve been curious about has brought me immense joy. It’s precisely because I do not bog myself down with the idea that this is my ‘forever and always’ purpose or career path. I’ve become agreeable with the idea that I might focus on a purpose for 4,5, hey maybe 10 years but after that I’ll probably want to explore something else. I think its high time, especially Millennials and Gen Zs to re-conceptualize what our careers can be (of course in respect to accessibility, barriers, and privilege). This has been so freeing for me and I challenge you to do the same. I think of the Astronaut-Doctor-Solider Jonathan Yong Kim probably one of the most fascinating humans ever. I challenge you to re-conceptualize if one purpose is one too many, I don’t think so.

2. Those who can do

Giphy

Now what do I mean by this? I mean from my small experience growing my career, those who are willing to make that jump to the next challenge, the next experience are the ones you see 20 years from now leading and developing impact. I’ve learned it’s not necessarily because they’re experts beyond their years. Some are, but quite too often not many are, so what is it? Well it’s there willingness to dare. To dare to ask more from themselves and life itself. This does not mean they’re these pristine perfect individuals who are without fault but let me me put it bluntly — who gon check me? No but seriously, who is going to stop them to dare for more? No body. When you begin to realize no one will motivate you to be more and simultaneously no one will ‘check you’ for daring to be more, the lighter and more optimistic life becomes in my eyes.

3. Kill the Imposter

Okay that may have been a bit aggressive of a title but it gets to the heart of my point. The imposter is a lie. I’m so happy I’ve learnt this as quickly as I have in my career. As you may have seen in older posts I’ve pointed to having an imposter syndrome at the work place. I’m not invalidating those experiences but lets pull the onion back a bit. Why did I feel those feelings? Did I feel incompetent, yes at times. Did I feel unwelcomed, well not explicitly. Did I lack experience? Well yes I was a new young professional with the goal to gain experience so of course I lacked experience. This may all seem redundant but if you peel back the onion you may realize the feeling of unexpectedness, inexperience and worry is normal whenstarting a new path, especially a path you’re completely unaware of. Kill the imposter! The imposter feeling is a rationale response but its not you — its not who you are. You are capable, you can learn more, understand more, gain nuances, think strategically. You are more than the initial trepidations you felt about yourself. Also, just call a spade a spade sometimes, you didn’t feel outcasted because you felt like an imposter, you felt that because some people said some micro-agressive things that hurt and it sucked. Or that your ideas weren’t respected because they still saw you as young. Those instances are real and hard to work through but their not you. Kill the imposter, you are you and that’s more than enough and worthy.

I could probably go on for a little while longer but I think these three tidbits are good for now. I hope they provided some perspective. I’m still growing myself and I’ll change my mind along the way but I’ll continue to keep growing and keep that promise. Til next time!

--

--