Self Discovery + Introspection

Faith Edem
Adullthing
Published in
4 min readMar 7, 2019

This week we’re doing things a little differently.

I’m going to pose a few questions to you, and hopefully through your own personal introspection you can guide yourself to some self discovery to contribute to your introspection.

Firstly, before we begin, I’d like to highlight the importance of introspection on all facets of ones life. When you’re on a path to self discovery you’re critically engaging with yourself. The most important aspect of this, is being honest with yourself. I’ve come to realize, not everyone has an introspective personality. It’s not everyday that someone will objectively look at their choices and life actions to critically examine whether they could improve, change or positively impact a part of that life. That’s fine if you don’t naturally do this because I’m here to help you on your introspection path.

I will generalize this self discovery experience as more of an exploratory task so that it can be utilized in various aspects of you’re life, whether it is finance, career, lifestyle/health wellness and everything under the sun.

1. Understand Your Core Values

By understanding what these things are, you’ll have a better foundation to inform future decision making. My core values are independency, collaboration/engagement, helping others, love and honesty to say a few. Try writing someday, really think about what drives you or things that you care about, and ask yourself why? These type of question should help shed light on what your core values are.

2. Be Honest

As previously mentioned, you won’t see any changes in your life without reasonable honesty with yourself. Look into the things that have been inhibiting you from growth. For instance, I had to be honest with myself, I suck at quantitative analysis. I took it upon myself to be honest, but then to turn that honesty into an effective solution. I started taking free Excel online courses to impact change on that aspect of my life that I don’t feel the most confident in. Honesty can lead to positive change. I recommend looking into things your can partake in or learn from that can contribute to your self discovery.

3. Learn from your mistakes

It’s one thing to be introspective and spew enough positivity to motivate yourself, it’s another to be positive while being accountable. I need you to remain accountable to yourself. This ties into the honesty aspect, but I’m asking you to go a bit further than that. I want you to monitor your stream of consciousness, really pay attention to your “self talk” to make sure you’re not repeating the same self destructive habits. Over time, you’ll notice how often these negative thoughts permeate in your everyday. It’s not the end of the world, but learn from them, and slowly over time try to reason them away or respond back with positivity.

4. Realistic Goals

When you’re engaging in self discovery its best to set realistic goals. If you want to explore who you are and your boundaries, stay within reasonable limits. I for instance have started every new year since 2017 with setting goals for myself in every facet of my life. I set goals in my financial, career, and travel. I am then able to remain accountable to myself, check into my goals every once in awhile and adjust them as I see fit, remain to stay flexible.

5. Embrace Change

By choosing to engage in this self discovery, you are making a commitment to change, wherever this change may take you and that is amazing. It’s not too many people that are willing to embrace change, so it’s alright to be unsure of what’s to come next you’ll be alright. It’s all about being patient with yourself and embracing good habits through your introspection.

--

--