Write for us!

Brandon C.
Fixated: Personal Stories of ADHD
2 min readSep 7, 2023

--

If you are an ADHDer with a knack for the written word, we want you!

Fixated is all about personal stories. Every single human, ADHD or not, has experiences and perspectives that others may or may not ever truly understand. In a world that grows more divided by the day, personal stories are one of the best ways to really understand the world around us through someone else’s eyes.

When I was diagnosed with ADHD, I felt like I was viewing my own life through a new lens. I could clearly see the evidence of the disorder woven throughout my history. But I also had a very narrow understanding of what ADHD is and all of the challenges that come along with it.

After that, I learned everything I could about the disorder. I read psychology textbooks and scientific journals, but I only fully began to understand it because of the personal stories that I read on sites just like this one.

Stories about love, friendship, heartache, struggles at work, struggles at home, hobbies, passions, successes… these stories bring ADHD to life. When you tell a personal story about ADHD, you humanize it. And when you humanize something, it’s a lot less scary.

This publication focuses exclusively on adults with ADHD. Much of the ADHD-related content on the interwebs is geared toward children and parenting. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that, however, the amount of content made specifically for adults living with ADHD seems sparse in comparison.

So I want to tell my stories about life with ADHD, and I want to provide a place for you to tell your stories as well. If you are an adult living with ADHD, or you have an adult ADHD spouse or partner, then you are exactly the type of writer that this publication needs.

The world needs these stories. I truly believe that. If you have a story to tell, drop a comment down below saying “I have a story!” and I will add you as a writer for Adulting with ADHD. Together, we can work to remove the stigma and shift societal misgivings around what it means to live with ADHD.

All it takes is a good story.

--

--

Brandon C.
Fixated: Personal Stories of ADHD

Writer | Musician | ADHDer | Host of the Fixated podcast | Editor of Fixated: Personal Stories of ADHD