My future role in an AI team

Yu, Kexin
Advanced Design for Artificial Intelligence
2 min readSep 23, 2018
Image result for design
image from: https://medium.com/dropbox-design/how-do-you-design-a-design-doc-d7b2f1fa4a0c

I’m interested in designing the way that AI communicates and cooperates with humans from a designer’s perspective. So, I would like to be a user experience designer which is like the combination of AI interaction designer and choreographer in an AI team in the future.

My major was architecture and now I’ve transferred my focus to user experience design. I am interested in creating a product from an ambiguous idea and then perfect the workflow and interaction based on users’ needs and habits. Learning human-computer interaction and usability let me know how to make AI more understandable by human and how to improve its ability to “talk” with people.

Nowadays, design ability is kinds of a ‘must-have’ and there are lots of products can help people create design works. Like Luban from Alibaba can create personalized banner images for online retail shops. These weeks’ readings make me think of is there another way to design and create things except the way how human is doing it? If creating new things must base on previous experience and existing things, does it mean AI can only help people by analyzing tons of existing designs and then give us recommendations based on our personal tastes?

Sometimes I think what I’m doing is highly replaceable and the only way to be more competitive is to be professional on the cutting-edge AI technology. So, I definitely need to learn more about technical knowledge and human natural behavior.

--

--