My Role in AI

If I ever end up working in AI, I think I would be the offering manager for my team. I am majoring in supply chain management with minors in marketing and design strategies. My background in business will help me to succeed in a managerial role, but beyond that, I also have a lot of ideas and am very future-oriented. At the outset of any project that I feel passionate about, I have a vision of the end result that inspires me throughout and helps me to motivate my team. Although the vision is subject to change throughout the process, I remain oriented towards progress. I would love to manage the team and see the vision through.

I anticipate AI having a huge impact on supply chain and logistics. As big data gets even bigger, AI will be allow supply chain professionals to make better decisions with less time and effort. A recent Business Insider report indicates that early adopters of AI within supply chain are enjoying profit margins of 5% or more. Eventually, implementation of AI across the industry will lead to streamlined operations, better forecasting, and increased profits. I am excited to see how human roles within operations will shift as this technology becomes widespread.

My main aspiration in life is to do something that helps people. In whatever field I end up in, I want to be a force of positive change. Many of the ideas I have for AI revolve around helping people to live their best lives. Some ideas include a bot that teaches users new languages and a tool that assists home gardeners with growing their own food. More broadly, I am interested in healthcare administration, transportation, and personal development. I have always been passionate about personal development and I hope that the projects I work on will support that for both myself and others.

One thing that concerns me about this imaginary role is what would happen if the goal became twisted and no longer benefited people in the way I thought it would. I would have a hard time reconciling myself with working on a project that didn’t have any apparent non-monetary benefit to people’s lives. On the flip side of this, the idea of working on projects that make a real difference to people is absolutely inspiring to me.

--

--