Photo by Franck V. on Unsplash

Things I Hope AI Will One Day Be

--

If I were to completely shed all technological restrictions and state the two visionary ideas I am really looking forward to in the “age of AI”, they would be:
1. Teleportation
2. Thoughts organizer

Teleportation

Photo by John Paul Summers on Unsplash

We are makings so many advances in the field of virtual presence and telepresence. Holoportation, is a similar and current idea which lets you interact with another person in virtual reality. In the near future, I would really like to see this idea mature and eventually have infrastructure that would support virtual presence of multiple people without a wearable display. A more long term vision is quantum teleportation where people can stand at one portal and arrive at a destination portal far way without physically traveling that distance. Quantum teleportation may not be an AI problem per se, but I visualize it being present in the “Age of AI”.

Given the nature of technology, I would assume the initial users would be business people. A lot of time and money is spent by businesses to fly their people around the world for meetings who’s duration sometimes maybe as short as one hour. Eventually as the technology becomes cheaper and more accessible, it can be put to commercial use as well. This will receive tremendous acclaim. Who would not love to avoid traffic?

I don’t foresee any particular ethical issues with this idea that may be a roadblock. However, there might be hesitation to adopt this mode of transportation and lead to the eternal question — If you are disintegrated into pieces in one place and reassembled in another, are you still the same person?

Thoughts organizer

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I am constantly struggling to collect and recollect my thoughts. I would really benefit from a device, potentially a wearable, that would capture all the fleeting thoughts and ideas that I have and organize it for me. The recollection of ideas/memories/thoughts could be triggered by a command as simple as “What was I just thinking?” or as complex as “what are my thoughts on AI ethics?”

How often have you said “What was I just going to say?” This idea may be half baked but I see real potential in terms of use. It could be extremely useful to people with powerful positions in the world who are under constant scrutiny and required to articulate their ideas eloquently.

Technically, I would assume that these “thoughts” would reside on a cloud since a physical memory device would not be practical. This would raise a lot of security issues. Even if we were able to guarantee security, I am not sure how ethical it would be to capture each and every thought since we cannot control our subconscious. It would be similar to recording each and every word that one says but worse. This might lead to complications with respect to privacy and confidentiality.

--

--