We won’t be bored

“Circular ripples in the water.” by Ian Keefe on Unsplash

In 50 years, if the development of cognitive is on a linear path, then I don’t ever want to have to do a mundane task ever again. Loading the washer, filing emails, creating spreadsheets, buying tickets, paying taxes, sending birthday invites will all be things that we will expect to be done for us in the future. We’ve said it before in this class, but my ideal implementation of a cognitive experience is not one where I’m replaced but an experience where my time is better utilized. This is the quintessential place that a genuinely aware system will occupy. While some people might fear that machines will take over one day and replace us all, I don’t see this happening. The missing piece that is key to human life is creativity. In 50 years when I have an ever-present all-knowing assistant, my time can be used pursuing creative projects in whichever sector I might be working.

Over the next 50 years, humanity will have to re-define itself and what our purpose is. At the moment our objective is to survive and thrive in our current state, but with the assistance of artificial intelligence, I think we need to start exploring possibilities that are beyond our world. Yes, that means space travel, but I also suggest exploring the roles and spaces we occupy as humans today. When the majority of our time is spent maintaining our lives will be able to devote more energy towards expanding our lives. In 50 years I worry that we will not reach this point as a society due to the fear and lack of information that currently exists about artificial intelligence. As humans, we have stunted our progress due to our own fear of the unknown. Artificial intelligence transcends this fear because a cognitive experience is conscious with or without us. We have taken a big step in letting voice bots into our home, but that is just a drop in the ocean artificial intelligence will build.

--

--