Working on an AI team

Evelyn Z
Advanced Design for Artificial Intelligence
2 min readFeb 12, 2019

If I work on an AI team one day, my title would be a designer or a manager. I want to focus on the area of improving work efficiency or healthcare and life science. Take an example, medical records are great resources. People still have many areas waiting to be developed and explored in the area of life and health science. And for now, we don’t have a unified platform for the public hospitals and we don’t make good use of lots of medical data. Maybe we can create a smart medical platform or assistant which is affiliated with the government or Institute of Medical Research. It can diagnose diseases, digitize records, examine these big, complex data and come out with reliable solutions for patients and doctors.

My undergraduate major is industrial design and entrepreneurship management. My graduate major is information science focusing on UX. For now, I didn’t see the news that AI is helping to do industrial design and 3D modeling. But AI will liberate the industrial designer in the future. I believe computers equipped with AI can do automatical modeling and rendering because AI can already help designers design and paint. We already have products, like Alibaba’s Luban Smart design platform which can produce a simple poster based on the database. In the UX-related industries, data is everywhere. We’re sure AI would help UX workers do the market research, competitive evaluations, interview takeaway analysis, and even iteration, etc.

With my design background, I have lots of project experiences in different areas. I’m a quick learner with an open mind and flexibility. I believe, with AI, the product team’s focus is still on how to create products with better user-experiences, how to know users and intervene and affect their behaviors, how to let them feel comfortable when using the products and keep using them. I’m skilled in user-centered design methods. I know how to iterate product in a limited time, business management, strategies, how to work as a bridge and communicate with people from different backgrounds in a group and how to be a product manager, which is helpful when our AI team is creating a specific product.

I don’t know someone who works in AI-related area in person for now. My worries and inspires are similar. Users want smart products that can work for them. But they don’t want those products to breach their privacy. I want to do research and design about trust in a data-driven era. Security will be more and more crucial in the future. How to let people trust data, trust AI, trust the security that technology workers promise to them is interesting. To solve these problems, it’s a loop that contains psychology, user experience design, technology, and business.

--

--