Angel Eyedealism Doesn’t Need Social Media to be Successful

Franswa Zhang
Advanced Reporting: The City
4 min readFeb 21, 2022
Angel Eyedealism modeling for Nikki Johnson in 2019 (Instagram: angeleyedealism)

East Village astrologer Angel Eyedealism is finally going to be on TikTok. Yes, you can expect to see her iconic glittery pink eyeshadows and sparkly flowy gowns; No, it’s not going to be a career shift. The NYC astrologer said she came across the idea while writing for wikiHow, the online database of how-to articles. However between her virtual reading appointments and keeping up with planetary patterns there’s hardly any time to be on social media.

It seems like Eyedealism is missing out on the boom of online interest: the term “astrology” hit a decade peak in popularity by the end of 2020, according to Google Trends. While many astrologers are finding success in their online business in the past two years, Eyedealism is keeping the traditional one-on-one approach as much as possible. Despite the abundance of cheaper online options, a steady stream of customers are paying upwards of 375 dollars to meet her.

In this article I talked to the famous astrologer, who since December has taken shelter in her Lower East Side apartment. Sitting in front of the Zoom screen with her signature makeup, Eyedealism wears her natural cropped blonde hair and a black silk kimono. She explained to me her work during the pandemic, how she was able to help her clients and enjoy herself at the same time.

Q: You are very much known for an unconventional approach to your reading sessions. What’s the first thing you would ask a client to do?

Well, I would ask you to go pee first because I’m known to be hilarious.

Q: Astrology involves a lot of calculation and information, how do you prepare for your meetings and how do you present your study to your clients?

I would tell a client to be open-minded, and to be entertained. I need the time, the date and the place of birth to do a natal chart, which is the base of all astrology. Then I calculate it, analyze it go over it with intricate detail, planets in the signs, planets in the houses, angles, but angle dynamics between planets. And I also use transits that was going on in the sky now and how it’s impacting your chart.

It is a huge amount of information. But if I see that somebody is more suitable on the cake, or they’re not really not really getting it, I slow my guts down a little bit and try to break it down. Some people take notes, I allow an audio recording, and I also have supporting documents like a report for all that I’ve discussed.

Q: Your specialty is in relocation astrology, what does that mean to people who come to you? What type of questions do you get asked a lot?

Where will I be safest? During the pandemic people have more questions instead about adventure, they’re more like, how can I stay alive? Those people who could work remotely are kind of stuck in one place, and they’re kind of dreaming of where they could be next, taking the leap of faith to go somewhere where they haven’t gotten before during a pandemic.

Q. You are giving potentially very impactful advices to people who are under a lot of stress, how do you walk the line between presenting your calculations and being considerate and helpful?

I walk that line carefully. First I talk to each person before I will agree to do reading. If the person seems you know, psychotic or aggressive no very weird in some way, I’m not gonna let him in. To your question astrology reading is a therapeutic function, in that when somebody gets you, you can relax, because the person understands you. As an astrologer, that’s my job to look at that person, even if I don’t agree with the kind of person that they are, I let them know that I understand what is in their chart, therefore the person doesn’t feel judged. You are dealing with human beings with sensitive nerve endings, you’re dealing with people and their life experiences, the things that have gone through. I’m comedic and flip with how I do it, but anybody can tell that I am compassionate towards them.

You can have a very difficult chart, but you can grow up to be an amazing person, because you’ve learned to overcome the difficulties. So in each reading I sit with the person understands their good qualities and how to roll with them, and how the difficult angles in their chart can be turned around.

Q: With the preparation and engagement with the clients, it sure sounds like a hard work. What do you love about it that kept you going?

I really love it though. Because I’m still presenting as me, in terms of being upbeat and fun but sometimes, to say, “yo, you’re busting my chops, what the f — — !” Like, do you want this information or not. It’s very, very rare, you know, once in a while (laugh).

I’m a very specific person not prone to vagaries. With astrology, or at least the way I do it, I try to deal with a minimal amount of bullshit. People lie, charts don’t. I’m sure outrageous but I’m also very accurate from what people tell me. You know you couldn’t get I couldn’t get away with some of the shit I get away with if I wasn’t accurate.

--

--

Franswa Zhang
Advanced Reporting: The City
0 Followers

Reporter. International student at his senior year studying journalism and anthropology at NYU.