Focusing on our hopes, not our fears

--

Every day President Obama’s immigration programs remain on hold, more families are permanently separated

by Joy Lee

Today, the 5th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in New Orleans will hear oral arguments in a case that could lift the temporary ban on President Obama’s immigration action announced last November.

In February, programs such as DAPA (Deferred Action for Parental Arrivals) and expanded DACA (Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals), were put on hold by U.S. District Judge Andrew Hanen in Texas v. United States. Each day these executive orders remain on hold, hundreds more families are permanently separated and millions more dollars in tax revenue are lost.

According to the Department of Homeland Security, there are 11 million undocumented immigrants in the U.S, and 1.3 million are Asian. If the president’s immigration action is restored, protections will expand for the lives that have been put on hold; an estimated 4.9 million undocumented immigrants, including approximately 400,000 Asian immigrants, will be shielded from deportation.

The availability of DAPA and expanded DACA will drastically improve the lives of hard-working individuals who have made contributions to our country and should be able to remain in the United States with their families. Read the stories of two individuals here:

Q & A with R.P.

“Our goals and dreams have been delayed…” A husband, father, and physical therapist shares his dreams, hopes, and challenges as an undocumented immigrant in the U.S.

Why did you come to the U.S.?

I came to the United States to work as a physical therapist in 1994 through an immigration petition from an American recruiting company. I grabbed this opportunity to be able to provide my family with the best and stable future that they deserve.

How did you become undocumented?

At first, I was hired as a physical therapist to work in Georgia under an H1B visa. My employer petitioned for my green card under the employment category. In order to be approved for a green card for this particular category, I had to pass the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) exam, of which I always failed the speaking part of the test by very small margins because of my thick Filipino accent. I passed the written and structure sections easily. As a result of my continued failure to pass one section of an English competency exam, the Immigration and Naturalization Services (INS) denied my green card petition. Since that moment, I have been out of status.

What was your initial reaction when expanded DACA and DAPA were announced last year?

I was very excited that I would finally be able to provide for my family the future that they have missed out on.

How would the lives of you and your family members change when you receive DAPA?

It will help us tremendously in terms of getting good and stable jobs as well as freedom from the scrutiny and watchful eye of the authorities.

1. I, for instance will be able to practice physical therapy again. 2. My wife will be able to transfer to a better job; she will be able to be evaluated annually and earn the promotions that she deserves. 3. Practicing as a therapist, I can provide for and support my family financially. 4. I can sent my youngest child to the best school and not have to worry about finances.

What has been the most challenging part of this waiting process?

The hardest part is the time that is wasted; I could be practicing as a physical therapist and have my license back, if not for the Texas judge that blocked President Obama’s executive orders. My family would be financially stable. To me, family always comes first, and this waiting period has taken its toll on us because our goals and dreams have been delayed.

If you had the chance to meet with legislators about the impact DAPA will have, what would you say?

I want to tell lawmakers that we are good, honest, God-fearing law abiding citizens. We just want the best for our family, and to be able to give them the best future that they deserve. The only law that I broke is that I overstayed my visa because if I go back to the Philippines and stay there, I will not be able to provide a stable future for my family. My family is the most important part of my life, and their future is number one on my lists of priorities.

Where would you like to be in 10 years? What are your goals and dreams?

In 10 years, I pray that the Lord will answer my prayer to become a productive contributor to American society. Also, I would love to visit my mom in the Philippines; it’s been 19 years since the last time I saw her. I love my mom and miss her so much. I want to find a way to bring her here to the states.

Q & A with T.B.

“The most important thing is to be with my kids. I want to give them a better life.” T.B. says receiving DAPA would be like heaven, providing security for him and his family. Read his story:

Why did you come to the U.S.?

I moved to the United States from Thailand in 1996 to pursue my education. I entered the U.S. on a student visa. I received my master’s degree in the United States.

How did you become undocumented?

After completing my education in the U.S., I obtained an H-1b visa. I was working as a quality engineer for a manufacturer in Texas. I got married and bought a house. After September 11, 2001, the economy crashed and my employer laid me off. I tried to find a new job but I couldn’t find a new sponsor while the economy was so bad. I couldn’t just leave the life I had in the U.S.

How has being undocumented impacted you and your family?

It’s stressful and I’m scared all the time. I got detained once. I have a young son and a daughter who are both U.S. citizens — the most important thing is to be with my kids. I want to give them a better life. Right now I’m limited in terms of the jobs I can get. I can’t use my degrees. I work as a waiter that earns me a lower income but I need it just to survive.

What would receiving DAPA mean for you and your family?

It would be heaven because I would be able to stay with my children. I could get back to a normal life. I could return to my previous work as a quality engineer, which was fun and paid better. I have spent half of my life now in the United States. I want my kids to stay here and I need to be with them.

Joy Lee is the Advocacy Communications Fellow at Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC.

--

--

Advancing Justice – AAJC
Advancing Justice — AAJC

Fighting for civil rights for all and working to empower #AsianAmericans to participate in our democracy.