We Got Counted in the 2020 Census!

Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC staff, family members, and households were proudly counted in the 2020 Census!

Today is Census Day! Read the stories from our staff members that show just how easy and how important filling out the census is for your family, community, and future. Join the conversation on social media using the hashtags #AAPI2020 and #CountUsIn.

Raima Roy:

This is my first time filling out the census, so this was a really exciting day for me! I’m proud to fill out the form so I can fulfill my civic duty in ensuring my community is counted. Filling out the census makes me happy that the Indian American community will be represented and have the funding and resources it needs for school and college funding, roads, hospitals, and language assistance at the polls!

Megan Essaheb:

I filled out the 2020 Census online as soon as I received my form with the unique ID in the mail. It was very quick! I filled it out for my household: myself, my husband and my two children. We just wish there was a MENA category (Middle East/North Africa) for my husband and kids. Then I emailed our neighborhood listserv to remind folks to fill out their census. The coronavirus adds to the existing challenges of making sure underserved communities are counted.

Gisela Perez Kusakawa:

I just filled out the 2020 Census! It only takes a few minutes to fill out online! My household is both Filipino and Japanese. Please join us in getting counted to make sure that our community is visible!

Livia Luan:

I filled out the 2020 Census online! I identify as Chinese American. Completing the online census was a simple and streamlined process, and I’m so glad that my participation will increase the AAPI community’s visibility and better allow my neighborhood to receive its fair share of resources.

Bessie-Chan Smitham:

We have been counted in the 2020 Census! We rent an apartment in D.C., and our household is two people. Bessie checked Chinese and Alex checked Japanese and White and wrote in English. We filled out the census online, and it only took a few minutes.

Lisa Campbell-Thornton:

I’m so proud to be able to do my civic duty for my family and my community.

Terry Ao Minnis:

I filled out my census online to make sure that my community gets its fair share of resources and political power for the upcoming decade!

Mary Tablante:

We were thrilled to receive our census mailer on the first day of mailings! In just a few minutes, I filled out the 2020 Census online at my2020census.gov. For the race and ethnicity question, I proudly checked Filipino and Mike checked Chinese. Filling out the census is one of the easiest ways for our communities to get resources for the next decade.

Michelle Boykins:

I have never been excited about the census until now. Because now I know what it really means to take a few minutes and respond. It means I count, my sister counts, and our community will benefit in the end.

John C. Yang:

[It took] eight minutes and 35 seconds to complete the 2020 Census for family of four with both kids helping. An excellent civics lesson while we are all trying to home school. (I have always admired teachers, but now more than ever.) ⁦

Niyati Shah:

I got my census form in the mail and filled it out online using the ID provided. It took less than five minutes and it feels good to answer each question so that I and my community are counted.

;

Marita Etcubanez:

The notice with my Census ID arrived in my mailbox this week. Since I’m homebound, there was no reason NOT to complete my Census form right away. It took me less than three minutes to complete the form online. If you have questions about the Census, call the hotline run by Advancing Justice — AAJC and APIAVote: 844–2020-API.

Get more resources on the 2020 Census at CountUsIn2020.org and make sure you fill out the census at my2020census.gov, by phone, or by mail.

--

--

Advancing Justice – AAJC
Advancing Justice — AAJC

Fighting for civil rights for all and working to empower #AsianAmericans to participate in our democracy.