The “Lady Niarn” story

Part of the “Indochina” chapter from “My Travel Journal”

Dragan Tapshanov
Adventure Stories
2 min readMar 20, 2014

--

… When i was about to leave the market, i noticed one old fella smoking outside a house that seemed to be a shop for selling some handmade souvenirs, i walked besides him and entered trough one wooden gate, there were few steps leading to the house which entrance was on the second floor, when i climbed upstairs there was an old lady waiting to greet me. She said something on Thai and set me down on a bench, she started talking to me as i was native speaking Thai, but when she mentioned the word “camera” few times and i understood that she wanted me to take photo of her. I mean, who would not say something about cameras and photography when they see a guy with 3 cameras hanged on his neck. We finished the photo session and I, as a good traveler bought something from her shop. She offered me a spicy soup and a drink that i didn’t get the name of, i ate quickly and left the old lady as i found her. From the neighbors i learned that she has never been away from her village and that now she is sick from some illness that can’t be cured. They told me that her name is Niarn and that she is the oldest saleswoman in the village but her face is deceiving and doesn’t look as old as she is because of the natural remedies the people from Thailand are using.

Lady Niarn at her balcony at the floating village/market in Thailand — Damnoen saduk

--

--

Dragan Tapshanov
Adventure Stories

Constant Traveler, Visual Storyteller, Environmentalist.