Building the new Nanaimo Water Treatment Plant

Keenan Ngo
Adventure Arc
Published in
1 min readFeb 25, 2015

Since December, I’ve been going to Nanaimo every week for work. The City of Nanaimo is building a new water treatment plant that will feed the entire city. The structural part is just wrapping up and architectural cladding and finishes are beginning.

This project is special to me because it is the first major project I was involved in as an engineer.

Back in 2010 when I started my engineering career as a co-op student, this was my main task for 6 months. I did a 3D model and was heavily involved in the preliminary design cumulating in model fly-through video. Proudly, the final design for the water treatment plant is pretty similar to what I’d laid out in the preliminary design. Of course, over 4 years, the building got properly engineered and optimized, but there are still bits that I contributed.

If you’re interested in the project, the city of Nanaimo has a website about it as well as a blog with more photos.

--

--