New Camera Lens

I bought a super-wide

Keenan Ngo
Adventure Arc
2 min readAug 12, 2021

--

Even before we went on our world tour, I’ve wanted an ultra-wide lens for landscape photography. At the time there weren’t many options and even now there isn’t much unless you’re willing to drop some serious cash. Along with starting up the blog again and taking pictures, I took a look online and did some research to see what the state of the market was.

I was pleasantly surprised to find some reasonable options and after deliberating for a few weeks I decided to go for it. On Monday I found a good price for Sony 10–18mm f4 lens on Kijiji and took a train out to the suburbs to meet the seller. On the way back I got off at Exhibition and took a walk around Ontario Place to test it out.

This lens is much sharper than the 16–50mm f3.5-5.6 lens that came with my A6000 camera. I don’t know how much that has to do with the stock lens being of a lower quality or the number of times I’ve dropped it. I did notice that the new lens has noticeable chromatic aberration and a lot of vignette in the corners but that’s a pretty common problem for super wide lenses and might also be from the UV and CPLT filters I got from the seller.

Overall I’m pretty happy with the results but I’m still having trouble with my photo editing software so that’ll be the next thing to figure out.

--

--