New Hobbies

Japanese Zen rock gardens

Keenan Ngo
Adventure Arc
2 min readDec 9, 2020

--

A lot has happened this year and it’s been pretty rough going. My friend told me that I needed a new hobby., so this is me trying karesansu (枯山水) Japanese dry rock gardens. I got a small desktop kit from amazon and I can say with pride that I’m enjoying making a different garden each morning and taking a photo. I enjoy looking over at my zen garden throughout the day as it gives me energy and peace at the same time.

Today I turn 30 and two of my best friends were on a video call at midnight with me. The same friend who said I needed a hobby asked what I want to accomplish this year at 30 years old. I’m not sure, I struggle with knowing what I want and what’s possible in life right now. The future is clouded and difficult to anticipate but but at least there’s a new calmness to the next day.

I’ve also been able to add some of my 3d prints to the gardens too
The kit also came with several decorations to use. It was quite a good quality kit for the price and I much better than I expected from Amazon.

--

--