New Skills

Sailing Georgian Bay

Keenan Ngo
Adventure Arc
2 min readSep 22, 2021

--

This weekend I had the opportunity to learn a new skill. Jenna invited me and some other friends to go sailing with her family on their 35' boat. It was really cool to learn sailing basics from her father and I had a great time.

The day was warm, around 26 degrees and probably one of the last days of summer. There was only a slight breeze so we were generally cruising at a leisurely 3–4 knots and only made it up to a maximum of about 5.7 knots. Although the wind wasn’t very conductive to learning to sail it was still enough for us to grasp the basics.

The good weather also made the experience very enjoyable. We were also able to jump in the water during our lunch stop. The water had warmed over the summer so it was much warmer than I originally expected. It was a refreshing stop and a bonus swim that many of us didn’t think we’d get a chance to do.

At the end of the day I figured that sailing was a lot of fun and I’d like to do it again. It would be really cool to go on a 1–2 week trip though I acknowledge that sailing is one of those activities that can get really unhappy really quickly with the weather. Hopefully there will be more opportunities in the future to sail again.

--

--