Remembering what its like to Travel

Scarborough Bluffs by Bike

Keenan Ngo
Adventure Arc
3 min readJun 7, 2021

--

My speed picked up, yet in the record breaking 31 degrees, the air remained sweltering hot and humid. I coasted down the gently curving road on my old mountain bike, slaloming from side to side. From the top of the escarpment to the bottom, the road was empty and I felt the rush of acceleration and giggling delight. The last time I went this fast down a hill on a bike must have been when I was a child. I laughed at the hoards of beachgoers trekking along the shoulder and continued my descent.

Bluffer’s Park is one of eleven parks along Scarborough bluffs and is about an hour and a half from downtown Toronto by bike. The route there was pretty good for the most part, with a dedicated bike lane along Bloor. It is the most well known due to a combined park, marina, and beach.

With speed I rounded the last bend in the road and the forest opened up to the marina and park. I was suddenly struck with a feeling I hadn’t felt in a long time — the excitement of being somewhere new and a nostalgia for all the great beaches I’ve been to during my travels.

Although I’ve been to Bluffer’s Park once before in 2018, I’d never been to the beach which is a little ways further that I would not want to walk. Despite the number of people walking in and the police road block at the top of the escarpment with a well-worn sign that the parking lots were full, I was still surprised to find the beach packed with people. But then again, it is the first weekend after Toronto’s stay-at-home order was lifted and super hot weather.

I realized that I should have brought swimwear… and a towel. I should have thought this through. I bypassed the families with young children holding beach buckets and couples carrying bbq grills to the gravel path running along the escarpment to the far end of the beach. A well-worn trail flows through the bush parallels to the beach making for easy access. The lakeshore had a nice breeze and under the shade of a drooping willow I found a good spot to have a picnic.

The ride back was a steep climb back up the escarpment to a network of trails where I got a good view of the lake. Then through a residential neighbourhood which I imagine have a stellar backyard on top of the cliff. It was a hard pedal back to the city, slow first from a strong headwind and then later from being tired.

I mapped it out afterwards and I did about 35km round trip. Although I came back sneezing pollen, the trip was worthwhile as it reminded me the fun of traveling and going on adventures, even if alone. With some luck, hayfever season will end soon and I’ll be able to continue exploring.

--

--