Vertical Videos aren’t that Awful

So stop complaining about them.

Justin Fowler
Adventures in Consumer Technology
2 min readJul 29, 2014

--

I’d like to start out by saying that I’m a video enthusiast. I’ve been a YouTuber for a good chunk of my life. I know about frame rates, aspect ratios, shutter speed, and all that stuff. But I’ve started to accept vertical video. Here’s why:

Mobile Has New Rules

It’s no secret that mobile is overtaking desktop. The majority of amateur video is being shot on mobile phones. Nonetheless, some people insist that we should stick to the old rules of desktop computers. Mobile is a revolution, it does what it wants to do. It doesn’t have to live by the rules and guidelines that desktops and laptops live by.

These are my own YouTube stats.

In October of 2013, Techcrunch reported that 40% of YouTube traffic comes from mobile. And that’s up from 25% in 2012. I’m sure that about 10 months later, YouTube is at or nearing 50% mobile traffic. As of now, mobile phones and computers are neck and neck on my YouTube channel.

Amateur Videos Are Amateur

I understand critiquing the latest episode of whatever show is popular now, or the latest Spielberg movie. But criticizing how people use their mobile phones? Puh-leaze.

If you can’t sit through a vertical video, then don’t.

Yes, I’ve seen the Glove and Boots video about Vertical Video Syndrome (it’s actually pretty funny). But when you want to record your cat doing something absolutely hilarious, is orientation what you’ll be worried about? Nope. You’re just worried about how quickly you can get the camera app open so you can start recording.

The top comment is about the video being vertical. Go figure.

Phones Are Vertical 90% of the Time

Odds are your phone is vertical right now. If you’re like me, the only time you ever turn your phone horizontally is if you’re playing a game.

Tiny Wings 2. I was addicted to this game for a while.

My home screen is vertical. It won’t even switch to horizontal. It’s unreasonable to mandate that people should turn their phone horizontally for this one specific task. It feels natural to hold my phone vertically.

Pick Your Poison

When it comes to shooting video, pick your poison. Video can be used as a medium for artistic expression, but we never told artists they should paint on canvases in a certain orientation.

I prefer viewing and shooting horizontally most of the time because that’s what I’m used to. A kid born today might not feel the same way. Record however you want and don’t tell someone they’re somehow wrong for filming their own way.

--

--

Justin Fowler
Adventures in Consumer Technology

Find me on Twitter @SomewhatJustin. Product Manager at Upswing.