Discovering The Beauty of Twitter & Online Communities

Brandon Lipman
Adventures in Consumer Technology
2 min readFeb 26, 2015

More and more everyday I am finding the beauty of communities. Between private Slack Groups, Reddit, Hacker News, Product Hunt, and Twitter I have started to find tremendous value from all of these various forms of community.

Click to Tweet — You can edit before sending

I have also found that for sites like Twitter to become valuable you have to put a significant investment in them. I will admit I made the rookie mistake of buying followers. I saw Fiverr gigs that offering Twitter followers. Buying 10,000 followers for five dollars does not increase the value of Twitter at all, if anything it diminishes the platforms value with additional noise. Luckily I was able to remove all the fake followers. In the last 10–11 months I have been actually putting the time investment into community and I am starting to see a return on my investment. Being engaged on Twitter is no longer a chore, I love it!

A year ago I would have never of written something like this, I was too fearful of others opinions and thinking, who am I to write and who cares? Now I know that my opinion has weight and my learnings have merit.

All of these communities have shown me the benefit of having distribution. Additionally, they have allowed me to drastically increase my rate of learning. Twitter has been a huge help in building up my confidence.

I am still learning from others far better at all this than me. I can't wait to see how much more value I find in these communities going forward.

If you liked this post push “Recommend” below and share it with your network.

Thanks for reading. Let me know what you think on Twitter @lipmanb. Don't miss a post by subscribing to my newsletter.

My newsletter is simple, every month I will send out an update with some of the best in venture capital and startups and occasionally I will send you what I write. I also plan to add in occasional surprises for subscribers.

--

--

Brandon Lipman
Adventures in Consumer Technology

Growth Marketing Consultant For Venture-Backed Companies @Redwhale. Follow me @lipmanb