I Just Wiped My Font Book

How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Fonts

Damiano Gui
Adventures in Consumer Technology

--

You know you have to do something when opening your font drop-down menu looks like being buried with outmoded dresses from an overloaded wardrobe. And no matter what you choose to wear, you’re never satisfied with it and it always seems wrong for the occasion and it ends up piled on your chair, on your desk and everywhere in your room, gathering dust and looking oddly inappropriate like a heap of broken lava lamps.

Something that reminds of lava lamps

There was a time, as a very young and reckless designer, when I used to download a new font for every new project. And there was another time when I was sick with it and as a recoil I sticked with Helvetica no matter what.

Helvetica. ‘Nuff said

In the end, in my never-ending attempt at being a better designer than what I am, a couple of weeks ago I decided that I had to make up for my ignorance in typography and do something with that font book. I finally wanted some order, some elegance.

Something extremely elegant

Following some advice I had been given in the past, I picked up Just My Type by Simon Garfield. It was a sudden revelation. Garfield succeeded in what every other teacher and book had failed: making me passionate about type.

A font one can be passionate about

And the reason he succeeded is quite simple: he got me interested by telling me, like many little tales, about the people behind the fonts. That’s what gives personality to a font, it helps me understand it, remember it, and and it ultimately gives me reasons why to choose it or not.

A font that owns everything to its story

So I enthusiastically set up and read the book, and after I finished I thought I had to do something more with it. First of all, I elected most of the font Garfield writes about as my preferred fonts, making sure to acquire those few I didn’t have already. Then, I deleted from my system font book all the other useless and crappy fonts I had amassed over the years.

One of my favourites, even before the book

But that was not enough: I wanted to have a sort of compendium, a short abstract of every font and, most importantly, of the person behind it. I wanted to fix in my mind those typefaces, in a very real sense.

I have to admit some faces behind some fonts even scared me

Fortunately, the Internet came to my aid, and I was easily able to find a portrait of (almost) every single font designer described in the book.

The man, the font: it’s just a perfect match

The outcome — you can see it by yourself. I filled four pages with portraits and abstract, more or less copying and pasting the words of Simon Garfield (I couldn’t find better ones) so credit him for everything.

Then I sliced every piece in small rectangles. I still didn’t decide if I want to stick them together like those Pantone color booklets or hang them up on the walls of my room. Probably the latter. You saw some already. Here is all the rest. Enjoy!

Hope aliens will like it
“Highly remarkable”
A font for not getting you lost
As perfect as a human artifact can be
Same designer, but older. Don’t you think the font reflects that too?
A happy face, I see
Gimmie the ol fashion’d please
Another really perfect font-face match
Zapfino is just too much for me. I prefer Optima
This is Morison, but some say it was more of a Lardent’s work… I wasn’t sure which face to put
What a character he must have been!
The only one I couldn’t find the portrait of. But for some reason this guy showed up in the results, and I think it fits perfectly! (source: http://jlggb.net/blog/?p=2528)

That’s all! It was an extremely fun and interesting little project for me. I hope it can be useful for you too, wether you want to make some order in your font collection or you just need to pick a good typeface for your next project. What other fonts should I add?

--

--

Damiano Gui
Adventures in Consumer Technology

Head of Experience Design at Havas CX Milan. Prototyper of all things, occasional teacher, coder, game dev, motion designer, world champion of tsundoku.