How to keep track of your life with an elegant smart watch — Nokia Steel HR

Dorien Herremans
Adventures in Consumer Technology
5 min readSep 23, 2019

--

I’m into gadgets. Yet I never got a smart watch due to them looking overly big on my rather small wrist. Until I saw the Nokia Steel HR that is. I randomly noticed it while killing time in Heathrow airport, and fell in love. I bought it online as soon as my flight arrived in Singapore 13 hours later.

It’s been three weeks now since I’ve started wearing the Nokia Steel HR 36mm, and I must say I’m still impressed. Just like the hardware of my indestructible Nokia 3310, the steel is very nicely made. I feel like it’s giving me a new sort of control over and insight into my life in more ways than I had thought… (Keep on reading for my thoughts on sleep tracking, smart alarms, notifications, swim tracking (!), and more…)

Excellent / elegant looks

I’m not usually impressed by the design of smart watches of fit trackers, however, the Steel immediately caught my eye. Its very small (36mm) watch face looks like a normal watch, yet offers an impressive amount of features (even sleep tracking, which is still missing from the Apple Watch). For only $179.95 on Amazon, you get a smart looking smart watch with a ton of features.

The Nokia Steel HR is fully customisable. It comes with an easy clip-system to switch between bands. Useful for…

--

--

Dorien Herremans
Adventures in Consumer Technology

Associate Professor at Singapore University of Technology and Design. Lead of the Audio, Music, and AI Lab (AMAAI)