One Year In: The Nexus 5

Bryan Collom
Adventures in Consumer Technology
5 min readNov 21, 2014

--

It’s been just over a year since I posted my Nexus 5 Review. It’s a rough read with terrible photos. But it was the first piece of writing I ever published online. It took a lot for me to hit “Publish”

But one year later, here we are. Let’s go.

The Nexus 5 has shown to be a device loved by nearly all of the Google faithful. It had a fantastic spec sheet for it’s time, It had an unbeatable price at $350, and it ran Stock Android. The largest question remains: One year later, is the Nexus 5 still worth it?

In a highly competitive market, the Nexus 5 has stiff competition. If you’re reading this, chances are you know how I feel about the OnePlus One. There’s also the Moto G clocking in at $180 for a great value as well(which I've been trying to track down to review). With year old hardware and stiff competition, the odds are stacked against the Nexus 5.

The hardware still performs admirably on the Nexus 5. Android 5.0 Lollipop has given the year old phone a fresh coat of paint. Every animation is oozing with Material goodness(#PraiseDuarte). There is speed and responsiveness in everything you do on the Nexus 5. We’ve come to a point where the spec sheet on a device has become arbitrary, and experience is key. The Nexus 5 still offers one of the most fluid Android experiences known to mankind. Stock Android paired with good hardware equals a lasting and fantastic experience.

The Nexus 5 has a five inch 1080p panel that still looks great. It’s a little dim compared to others. But it’s a solid 1080p panel. It’s also a phone that you can very easily use with one hand. 4.7–5 inches is around the threshold for relatively comfortable one handed use. If you want Stock Android Lollipop without buying a gigantic Nexus 6, the Nexus 5 could be your best bet.

Speaking of Lollipop, it’s fantastic. If you want Lollipop now, but you don’t want a tablet(ahem, Nexus 6) or carrier lockdown. Buy the Nexus 5. Nothing on this earth compares to Stock Android. I may be a purist, but I believe Stock Android is the way to go. I’ve long been fond of Moto’s offerings, and have always gone Nexus when I can. Stock Android is fluid, fast, and responsive. With the Moto X in mind, I had the device for a time to review(Hardware, Software, and Camera right here). I came away with a lot of positive thoughts, but I found that the shortcomings in the Camera and Battery were too much. For a phone that is $525 off contract, it’s a hard sell. The Nexus 5 is $349 off contract. A difference in $200 for roughly the same phone.

Now, I just said the Nexus 5 and Moto X are roughly the same phone. This is both a good and a bad thing. It’s good because if you’re a current Nexus 5 owner, you’re still using a fantastic phone. It’s bad because if you want a Nexus 5, Google Play is out of stock. Of every single variant. I don’t know how long that has been the case(I’ll update this if I find out). But it would be a shame to discontinue a beloved device. If you cannot come across a Nexus 5. The Moto X(2014) is surely your best bet.

Another negative to this, is the battery life. When I loaded up Lollipop and used the Nexus 5 last week as my daily driver. I found myself searching for a charger after around 9 hours of use(2 hours of screen on time). To me, this is not good enough. I’m a mobile person who is always away from an outlet. I cannot afford to have a phone that can’t comfortably make it through a day with my usage. Your mileage may vary, but for my usage, the Nexus 5 does not cut it.

A device like the OnePlus One or the Nexus 6 is far better in terms of battery than the Nexus 5. This is mainly due to size. So with that you pick your poison.

In a brief comparison to the the Nexus 6, I’ll say this:

Google chose blaze a new trail with the Nexus 6. Choosing to go through carrier subsidy to allure the average consumer rather than purely the Android enthusiast. The price tag can be a deterrent for a number of people, with very good reason. This makes the Nexus 5 great for the budget conscious. The Nexus 6 is also gigantic. If you don’t want a phablet, but want a Nexus, then a Nexus 5 is for you.

One year later, LG’s Nexus 5 is still one of the best phones for the money. If you’re in the market for an off contract device that you can use in one hand, the Nexus 5 is probably for you. It runs Stock Android 5.0 Lollipop and runs it well. It still has a good to great camera, and has marginal to average battery life depending on usage. It’s not all great, but it’s mostly great.

--

--