What should I make with Medium Series?

A modest attempt at an answer

Joe Filcik
Adventures in Consumer Technology
2 min readMar 11, 2017

--

Announcement

Ever since Medium Series were announced 10 days ago I’ve been trying to figure out what I could do with them.

Here’s the video announcement in case you missed it:

Questions

It’s an intriguing concept this Series thing. How should it be used? I’m seeing lots of great thinking on this show up on (See, ’s post for some detailed analysis). But, the real answer is, no one knows. What a Series is will defined by us, the Medium community.

Where to start?

For me the interesting part of Medium Series is an opportunity to do two things at the same time:

  • Publish short posts frequently
  • Construct long thought pieces on a specific topic

It think a Series could be similar publishing a book, one chapter at a time (an emerging industry standard in China, I’m told). Instead, publish a chapter one section at a time. Or a section one paragraph at a time.

So, that’s my goal. Here’s my first attempts. The “pilot” episode of three different series.

What do you think? Which one should I focus on? What would make them more compelling? I’d love your input!

Series #1: UX: good, bad, and evil

Audience: Designers, Product people (), anyone interested in UX, Human Computer Interaction, etc.

Note: You can only view these posts in the Medium App, so if you’re reading this on the web, you’ll need to pull out your phone now. :)

Series #2: That 💡Moment

Audience: Anyone interested in ideas, discovery, creativity, and viewing the world through new eyes.

Note: You can only view these posts in the Medium App, so if you’re reading this on the web, you’ll need to pull out your phone now. :)

Series #3 Seattle: Day by day

Audience: Anyone who wants to see some beautiful pictures of Seattle.

I’m taking advantage of the “Tilt Photos” feature. This is certainly inspired by “This bridge, day after day” by and the amazing view I have at work.

Thanks for reading! 🙏

If you have enjoyed this post, please consider recommending 💚 it click Follow to for more posts on Tech, Creativity, and more. Thanks!

--

--

Joe Filcik
Adventures in Consumer Technology

Technologist interested in tech, ethics, creativity, security, and more. Writing @ www.Observer.com. Day Job: PM @Microsoft