When A Digital Media Site Sells Stuff

Peter Himler
Adventures in Consumer Technology
6 min readDec 11, 2016
The Pocket Tripod Pro

Many media outlets, especially those of the digital variety, have turned to e-commerce to make up for the low-flow of their advertising revenue streams. On the surface, this makes sense given the trust they enjoy from many of their readers. Nevertheless, the skills needed to create reader-engaging content may not be the same as those needed to create a quality customer experience.

One effusive product offer recently crossed my Twitter feed from a pioneer in the digitally native media world: Boing Boing.

As a huge fan of its co-founders Xeni Jardin and Mark Frauenfelder (whom I interviewed some years back), I had amassed a well of trust in the veracity and authority of their media brand. That is until I responded to the offer.

It was for a nifty little item called a “Pocket Tripod PRO” — a small, adjustable tripod that worked with any smartphone and folded up to fit inside one’s wallet. The “deal:” a $5 discount off the from $24.99 price.

I clicked the link and made the NON-REFUNDABLE transaction using Paypal, which is when the fun began. I soon was prompted to add my email for an additional 10% off my first order.

Shortly after paying, I realized that I was never asked for a delivery address. How am I to receive the product? To make matters worse, I was directed to a second site — StackCommerce — with a redemption code and another hurdle to clear before the purchase would be complete. (The transaction appeared to be out of Boing Boing’s hands at this juncture.)

I had to follow confusing instructions to locate my mobile device (iPhone7) and its case model (Caseology Titan) to ensure that I would receive the correctly sized tripod. Huh?

Naturally my iPhone 7 case was not among those the manufacturer — a startup called Geometrical Inc. — had tested. I would need to order, for another 99 cents, a plastic measurement card to properly size-up my smartphone. Thankfully, I was offered the option to print out the measurement card on my (non-existent) 3D printer! Not.

I contacted customer support, which advised me the next day to order the measurement card and follow directions to size up my phone so I may attain the product that I had irrevocably paid for.

I received the plastic card two days later via UPS, measured my encased phone, and then attempted to complete the transaction.

Rather than a Boing Boing site, I located the receipt in my email from a different digital media site, TNW Deals, the e-commerce spin-off of The Next Web. Even so, there was no button to complete the order, let alone to add my mailing address, the redemption code, nor the 10% discount. The receipt actually indicated that the order was complete and the product will be shipped. How is that possible? I was never able to provide the correct size nor a shipping address.

The coup de grace: the tripod is not yet available for shipping until the end of February. It’s a Kickstarter crowdfunded product, or is it an Indiegogo crowdfunded product? Who knows? What a rabbit hole!

I just sent customer service another email with all my info, including the correct size. Please help me complete the order! I wrote.

My advice to Boing Boing: do a little more due diligence before you put your esteemed name on a product for which the transaction protocol is clearly flawed.

Update #1:

I did receive the following note back from my “Support Hero” who informed me they were cancelling the order. (Did I ask them to cancel???)

(Support)

Dec 13, 3:02 PM PST

Hey Peter,

Thanks for writing in!

As a friendly reminder, we typically cannot cancel a purchase for a digital item once an order is placed. However, we understand that you just placed the order for the holidays, so I have processed a full refund for you at this time.

You’ll see your refund back on your original form of payment within 2–3 business days. Please do not be alarmed if it takes a few days for it to appear back on your statement as this is typical.

Hope you’re having a great day!

Your support hero,
James

Update #2

(Dec 20, 2016) Today, I received confirmation of “my order” cancellation from TNW Deals:

Hi Peter,

We’re reaching out to you today with regard to your recent purchase, order 5650982.

We recently heard from the vendor who sells the HomeSpot Rugged Waterproof Bluetooth Speaker that their carrier is no longer able to ship out these units internationally due to restrictions placed on these types of batteries going through customs.

As such, we have fully refunded your order. You will receive your refund e-mail confirmation by the end of today. Please allow 3–5 business days to see the refund back to your original form of payment.

We’ve also added a $5 site credit (valid for 3-months) to your account as an apology for the trouble, which can be used toward a future purchase. We assure you this type of issue is rare, and we look forward to exceeding your expectations next time!

Best,
TNW Deals

Okay. Whatever you say.

Update #3

Hi Peter,

Our apologies for the multiple emails you received (including this one)! The email titled “Your Order # Cancellation Notification” regarding our HomeSpot Rugged Waterproof Bluetooth Speaker was sent to you in error, and not intended for the purchase you made. Because of this, you have NOT been refunded, NOR has an order been canceled in your account.

Please ignore that email and have a Happy Holiday!

Best,
TNW Deals

…which prompted me to respond with the following:

Actually, I was expecting a refund and credit to my PalPal account. See note below from StackSocial. Thus far n0thing has appeared.

Final Update

Hi Peter,

We’ve refunded your order for Pre-Order: Pocket Tripod PRO (x1) in the amount of $19.99 back to your original method of payment. Thanks for your patience, and we hope to have you back as a customer again in the near future.

Questions, concerns? Feel free to contact our friendly Customer Support Team.

Team Boing Boing Store

Funny thing is that I really wanted this item. I only asked how to complete the order.

ADDENDUM

Two more emails arrived since my PalPal account was credited:

Dec 22, 12:39 PM PST

Hi Peter,

I am sorry things did not work out with your order. I have been authorized to issue you a refund for the full amount of the purchase price.

Please allow 2–3 business days for your refund to show onto your original form of payment.

If you have any additional questions, we are always here to help!

Your support hero,
James

Too late, James.

And this survey popped in my inbox today (12/23), with the subject line:

How are you enjoying your Pocket Tripod?

--

--

Peter Himler
Adventures in Consumer Technology

Founder, Flatiron Communications; President, PCNY; Editor, Medium; Blessed w/ 3 exceptional sons & a most fabulous wife; Music & tech; Maker of the sauce. #NYC