Hi-ho

Eric Irish
Adventures in Sisterland
2 min readJun 12, 2015

October was a long time ago. It’s a long time until October. Since then and until then, Sister has been in Korea.

Yes, Sister, not Twin; she'll make an appearance later.

Sister is Korean, but she’s also one of the most American girls I know, and I say that in the fondest way possible. Heck, she was an American before I was an American. She flew in from Seoul back in 1989 and claimed squatter’s rights on the biggest bedroom before I had a tush on which to squat myself.

Not a prison line-up

On top of a curriculum of tremendous rigor and competition (so I hear), Sister teaches English to kids of all ages.

Through various videos and pictures, we've learned that she does this through song, games, ridiculous names, and I'm sure some bribery most likely involving food.

One of her students “Gunfight”

So now the Irishes are headed to South Korea. We'll swing through the coastal city of Busan, get to know her current city of Pohang, and head to Seoul for some Gangam style. Hopefully we'll make it to the DMZ to give Kim Jong Un a wave.

Currently, the only word in Korean I know is “annyong”. We'll see how that goes.

--

--