Leavin’ on a jet plane

Eric Irish
Adventures in Sisterland
4 min readJun 13, 2015

After tall glass of chocolate milk, an “airborne” chewable, and lots of kisses for the little dogs we packed into the VW and headed for ELM.

A little hop to Detroit on a puddle jumper for just over an hour.

At first I got the odd-man-out seat with Richtor, but I soon swapped across the aisle for two seats to myself.

We met up with twin in Detroit. Of course, the usual parental longing for a daughter they hadn’t seen in a week was in full force. Just a preview for the later rendezvous.

Our last American meal would be from none other than McDonald’s. The Big Mac Index was set at $4.45.

We would be embarking on the longest and toughest leg of our journey. A 13-hour hop from Detroit to Seoul.

A Big Ol’ 747 would be our chariot — my first time on the most prolific plane of the late 20th century.

Here’s a stream of consciousness and decidedly not enough unconsciousness.

T-45m I've said it once, I'll said it a thousand times more. Why does everyone line up to get on a plane?

T-37m Divided jetways to board a 747. Neat. Guess they don't want plebs like me tracking filth through the first-class cabin.

T-35 Snakes on a plane? Ok. Stairs on a plane? Awesome.

T-19m In the aisle, a sign telling us “lavatories aft”. I wonder how many people are confounded by this, foreign and domestic. Sailors must feel at home.

T-16m First person spotted without their shoes on.

T-12m our flight attendant looks a bit like Private Pyle from Full Metal Jacket. His speed and efficiency in dispensing the safety warning seem in line with this thought.

T-8m spotted: 3 empty seats in the row ahead. Bonus: super legroom seats. Anxiously await the closing of the cabin door and the lack of further passengers.

T-6m They're mine.

T-4m I don't think that’s how neck pillows are supposed to work

T-1m Wow. It takes so long for the 747 to hit V1 and V2. Feels like you're riding on a train before final rotation.

T+51m Jack Daniel’s Tennessee Honey Whiskey…x2. Fo Free!

T+1h35m beef bimbap. Beef’s an old friend of mine; haven’t met bim or bap. Gochujang — “hot pepper paste”. Hot, yes.

T+3h47m the aforementioned, or should I say “AFTforementioned” lavatories are equipped with ashtrays and cigarette disposals. I would love to date this 747, I wonder if it likes lobster.

T+5h0m someone opens a viewport shade. Pupils everywhere cry out in terror.

T+6h3m stand up, stretch, yawn, dance ever so slightly to Ed Sheeran’s “Bloodstream”.

T+6h47m a midnight snack is served. A muffin that upon further inspection turns out to be a ham sandwich, milanos and a banana.

T+6h57m a wild and naked foot appears on the back of my armrest. I draw myself to full sitting height, cock my head to the side and stare. It retracts.

T+9h15m there’s a slit of daylight visible seeping under a sunshade. The sun rose at 5:57am this morning, and we still chase it at 1:19am. 19 hours and counting.

T+12h56m touchdown in sisterland.

T+15h1m The sun finally sets. We’ve experienced 26 straight hours of daylight. A snowpiercer train in the sky.

--

--