Speck: Chapter 6 — First Contact

Tom Maglish
Adventures of Speck

--

Looking through the translucent portal I saw millions of stars and galaxies; too numerous to count. The view was more beautiful than words can describe. I wasn’t aware that while I was taken aback by the awesome sight, something was moving behind me. I heard it and turned around to see where the sound came from. It was too late. Whatever it was, slapped onto the top of my head. From ear to ear and down the back of my neck this jelly mass stuck onto me. The more I struggled the smoother it became and adhered to my skull. Consciousness started to leave me. My last thought before I passed out was, “Welp! It’s suppertime!”

Do you ever believe in the hereafter? When you meet your maker and he shows you everything you did in your life: Good and Bad? Hopefully more good. When the show is done, the Maker either lets you into heaven or sends you into the fiery eternity of hell! I swear that’s what was happening. I was having a back flash from what seemed to be my entire life, from when I was a kid to the present. I have to confess that some of it wasn’t good. But, mostly, the things I recalled were neither good nor bad. It was things that took place in my life. More like experiences and not so much as my reactions to them. I was talking, going places, doing things, making decisions. Throughout it all, it was like a dream. Then I awoke. Lying on a bed of foam. I sat up still dazed from my after…

--

--

Tom Maglish
Adventures of Speck

Retired. Self published short story book. Working on publishing Children Picture Books. Writing short stories.