Should a Woman Play Hard to Get?

Anonymous Author
Advice for Women from a Guy
2 min readAug 20, 2017

No.

Think about it: if you’re going fishing, should you use strawberries or worms? You don’t like worms, but you know that fish do, so it would be silly to bait your pole with strawberrie. If you’re playing hard to get, you are using what works for you (strawberries) to catch a man (the fish) and it won’t work.

Playing hard to get works with attracting a beautiful woman, because she can have her pick of any man she wants, and so she will be drawn to a man she can’t have. But you’re not trying to attract a beautiful woman, you are trying to attract a man. The average man can’t have his pick of any woman. Even a tall, attractive, successful man will get rejected nineteen times out of twenty: if he gets twenty women to go on a date with him, nineteen of those women won’t go with him on a third date, and he won’t get to be in a relationship or have sex with those nineteen women. That’s a 5% success rate, and not really anything to brag about. So if you approach a man using the “playing hard to get” attitude, he will likely assume that you are just another one of the 95% of women who are not interested in him at all.

I had a girl do this to me. On our first date we went out with her friends and she ignored me the entire time. I just sat there bored while the music played and eventually I just struck up conversations with her friends. She eventually told me that she was playing hard to get because she thought that would make me like her. I didn’t find it attractive, I found it really rude, and I did not go on a second date with her, even though I found her really physically attractive.

TL;DR

Playing hard to get works on beautiful women sometimes, but does not work on men because we’ll think you’re just rejecting us like 95% of all other women. Don’t do it.

--

--