Women Only Care About Money, Men Only Care About Looks

Anonymous Author
Advice for Women from a Guy
2 min readJun 24, 2019

I’ve heard it said by frustrated women: “men are so shallow! They only care about a woman’s physical attributes. They don’t care about her personality, and what’s on the inside!”

I’ve heard and seen the opposite complaint from men: “women are so shallow! They only care about how much is in my wallet. They don’t see me for me.”

A woman is interested in a man, spends a few weeks going on casual dates with him, and then, unfortunately, he tells her he has started seeing someone else. She sees him out and about with his new girlfriend, and that new girlfriend is much prettier and fitter than the woman herself. Ouch.

A man is interested in a beautiful woman, and avidly pursues her. He takes her on dates, treats her well, and acts like a gentleman. She decides to go with someone else, a surgeon who makes about ten times what this man makes. Painful.

These experiences probably leave us thinking:

Can I ever be truly loved for who I really am? Or am I going to be caught in a cycle of plastic surgery just to keep my man from cheating on me with a younger woman? Or am I going to have to waste my life working 80 hours just so my wife won’t leave me for a richer man?

I’m not sure what to think. But here’s an idea:

I’ve heard that it takes a long time to fall in love, and that the first stages are “what’s in it for me?”

I think that people can and do fall in love, but for most people, it has to come after an initial barrier has been scaled, after a long-held standard has been met.

A pretty girl might think, “I deserve a rich guy.”

A rich guy might think, “I deserve a pretty girl.”

And they won’t settle until they find what they feel they deserve. THEN, after that, the process of falling in love begins. It’s like meeting a hurdle, and being tall/athletic enough to cross it. Once that happens, two people can, maybe, fall in genuine love that lasts even when the beauty and fortune that brought them together are no longer there.

--

--