The You in Ten Years

Michelle Sun
2 min readJan 17, 2013

Recently I came across this old Canto-pop song. It first came out in early 2008, when I graduated from college. It was one of my favorites, and a great timing as I was looking forward to beginning my life after college. Fast forward five years, as a midpoint check, the decisions I have made so far have mostly fared positively to the questions this song posed.

Dear new graduates, I wanted to share with you this song. I translated the lyrics here; they say it all.

Enjoy the journey. Stay true to your beliefs. Bias toward action. Keep your edges. Most importantly, strive to make the you in ten years proud.

To the Me in Ten Years

The things that you have done in the past ten years
Did they leave you without regrets, and make you proud?
Your beliefs back then
Are they still intact?

Have you found your life partner and true love?
Have your accomplishments been satisfactory?
Over the journey, you accumulated experiences
and as a result, did you let go of your edges?

Are you feeling weak?
Did you mature but lose your style?
Are you still as dedicated as you were in the beginning?
The edges in your character, did they become blunt?

Are you feeling weathered?
Do you rather become wise but without impulse?
Will you be tired of taking deliberate steps?

Are you happy?
Do you still remember your promises
to not be numbed by the handful of successes or failures?

Are you happy?
Did you forget about your ideals and get caught up with life?
Don't wait another ten years and then ask if you are happy

--

--

Michelle Sun

Founder at First Code Academy, K12 STEM academy in Asia. Forbes 30 Under 30. I write about STEM Education, Entrepreneurship, Health & fitness.