Mental Health Advocacy

Laura Annabelle
Advocating For Mental Health
10 min readJun 28, 2017

I would like to talk about our thoughts. Our mental health. As important as our mental health and our brain is to each one of us, I’d like to get a conversation going on seeing how each one of us responds to all our thoughts.

How do we respond? Do we easily believe them? Or do we try to find any real logical thinking that’s somehow ethical to what caused that thought or what may seem to be logical with why we feel that way or what kind of action any kind of tought encourages?

Hello fellow readers! I’d like to continue talking and blogging about my advocacy for mental health, my mental conditions, stories and overall all important facts, statistics and educational things to use for the rest of our lives.

Since June when I relapsed from my previous depressive episode, I’ve been taking so much better, healthier and positive care of my mental health. Since the beginning of my recovery from my previous depression episode till now, I’ve learned so much about the importance of mental health, mental health tips, mental habits, thinking strategies, and more from both my experiences and educational research online.

Through all my struggles and events that I’ve been through with my mental health in the past 2–3 years, I’ve gained a lot of new knowledge, experience, life lessons useful for the rest of my life and a lot else that has impacted my life greatly to its extent.

Who’s that girl you see in the future? That’s not me. That’s not the kind of human and citizen of society and all the things, qualities, passions, hobbies, life career, goals and life purpose that don’t match the person I am in the working process of becoming for 1.5 years now. But truthfully I’ve been searching, discovering and finding the real and true me that I was meant to be.

Whoever that is, I’m proud, happy, confident, beautiful and content with being that girl. Because like Justin Bieber quoted: “If I can’t be who I want to be and do what I wanna do, then I’m not gonna be happy.” And to add to that, I won’t be satisfied, confident, content nor happy in any healthy way.

As of October 4th, I was diagnosed with severe depression and have been on my first antidepressant trial for almost 6 weeks and a 2nd antidepressant trial after. Since 2nd semester of college, I had a severe depressive episode but still haven’t gotten my diagnosis for that episode yet and have been in recovery since even after having my recent relapse from the previous depression episode.

But since the end of my first year at Conestoga College, I’ve been recovering and have become quite a mental health advocate for it and in which I also want others like employers, friends, family, loved ones, and other acquaintances to respect, understand, accept, and support me with my mental condions and advocacy. I also want to continue educating others (anyone) on overall all important facts, statistics and educational stuff with caring for mental health. That includes friends, family, loved ones and any other acquaintances.

I would like to be completly open with speaking about my own mental health and others related stuff around the subject with anyone. My mental health is super and crucially important to me (value, priority and belief) and I want to continue being open about the whole subject (education, awareness, support, promoting positive mental health and my own mental struggles and conditions).

Mental health has been as important as anything else and I prioritize it enough to where if something puts my mental health at risk, I’m not gonna bother to consider it no matter how and why others want me to do what is not is good for my mental health.

I know what is best for me and I am gonna give myself that and much more! I know what I want and I’m gonna get it!

Thinking about how many of Halsey’s songs are easily linked to mental health and mental illness. For example: Hold Me Down & Gasoline. One mentions having low self esteem and the other about the demon trying it’s absolute best to knock us down, and keep us there, but sinking deeper in our depression or mental illness.

Anyway, mental illness is just as important and as valued as any other condition physical, emotional or mental. And having celebs like Selena Gomez, Demi Lovato, Halsey, Cher, Jim Carey and many others living with mental illness, it’s so important to have people out there in our world (the only world we have to live in) to advocate for this epidemic where Halsey states in this video that we still have a long way to go!

Being A Mental Health Advocate…

Thinking about how many of Halsey’s songs are easily linked to mental health and mental illness. For example: Hold Me Down & Gasoline. One mentions having low self esteem and the other about the demon trying it’s absolute best to knock us down, and keep us there, but sinking deeper in our depression or mental illness.

Anyway, mental illness is just as important and as valued as any other condition physical, emotional or mental. And having celebs like Selena Gomez, Demi Lovato, Halsey, Cher, Jim Carey and many others living with mental illness:

it’s so important to have people out there in our world (the only world we have to live in) to advocate for this epidemic where Halsey states in this video that we still have a long way to go!

Mental health affects us all in some way.

Whether we ourself live with mental illness, or we have any friends, family, coworkers or other acquaintances with mental illness. It’s everywhere and society has to accept that one point or another, sometime.

No human should be labeled or identified as healthy if their mental health or emotional state isn’t healthy or positive. Because if their emotional or mental state isn’t healthy than the physical health will suffer along with it.

If your deeply depressed, you’re gonna feel so lazy that you will lose complete motivation to exercise and keep a healthy diet. And many others areas of a human’s life:

~ Academics

~ social life

~ relationships

~ love life

And so I believe 110% of Leanne Simpson’s statement every single fact and belief that she covers in her video below (copy and paste link: or retype into your browser):

SPILT MILK: EPISODE 14 ~ BY LEANNE SIMPSON

A flashback to the day I interviewed for my current job, and why I choose to disclose my mental illness during the interview process.

Spilt Milk: Episode 14 | Mental Illness Community Canada

Aug 25, 2016 By Leanne Simpson This content contains explicit and sensitive information that may not be suitable for all…

www.sicknotweak.com

When it comes to being called and labeled as crazy for being mentally ill or just crazy insane, it hurts but can easily enough kill. Stigma around mental illness and mental health doesn’t just hurt, it kills too! And those in our society who give us these labels are so blind, closed-minded and stubborn to what’s really right in front of them.

They are stubborn and therefore refuse to view it from any different view. Even if they do once, they say they don’t like nor understand it and don’t try again.

Regardless of what anyone says or thinks, you are not a waste of space. You are more impetus to than any object or thing. Money is replaceable and other things but you; are not.

Don’t forget who you are and your worth. How do you expect anyone to see your worth if you can’t see it yourself?

It’s time to come out stronger and wiser to fight for mental health care and the right to speak for our minds when we are in need of help from a therapist or doctor.

There should be no shame in seeking help nor speaking openly about mental health, period.

It is possible for things and people to get the best of you such as that demon inside your head, but as hard as it may be true: we have always had the power to take charge and empower ourselves to fight the demon off to the level or stage of the war or battle ending.

Surround yourself with those who lift you up, not those who drag you down whenever you are with them. Trust me!

I’ve been there, my parents were like that for years but wasn’t till I made the choice to not let them have that kind of power over me like that and be in control of the situation: as for not being in the right stage of my life to move out like it would’ve been save to. As my parents were toxic to my mental health and wellbeing!

Wes immediately takes notice, having just gotten back together with mean girl Madison (Bella Thorne), but keeps it platonic, telling Bianca she looks great and having a brief friendship rekindling moment after their falling out earlier in the movie. The true turning point for Wes doesn’t come upon watching, slack-jawed, as Bianca enters the room in a get-up that’s completely transformed her (though her homecoming look is definitely the glam version of Bianca, she thankfully hasn’t done a 180, going from indie duckling to the Swarovski Crystal swan). Wes only changes his mind when he hears Bianca’s speech to Madison – he’s got the hots for her brain, not just her bod.

The resident it girl is infuriated by seeing her on-again boyfriend speaking to Bianca and takes it upon herself to tear Bianca down as best as she can, and Bianca responds with an important (albeit a little cheesy) speech about DUFF-dom and self-worth: Madison’s dream is to be the high school it girl, and that’s great, but Bianca’s got other dreams for herself. She doesn’t judge Madison’s goals and she asks that Madison doesn’t judge hers. She finally ends the speech with the entire point of the film:

“Yeah, I’m somebody’s DUFF. So is everybody. It shouldn’t affect how you see yourself.”

Bianca then trots back to her friends, ready to just enjoy the night and her newfound outlook, while Wes and Madison dart towards the stage to receive their Homecoming King and Queen crowns. Wes sees Madison living her dream – being Homecoming Queen – in stark relief against Bianca’s wise words and lofty goals. It’s at that moment – long after the superficial glam reveal has passed, I might add – that he realizes he wants to be with Bianca. Cue romantic make-out moment.

Yes, it’s cheesy – this is still a high school comedy after all – but it’s the distinction about what Wes really values about Bianca that serves as an undercurrent for all the things The DUFF does right.

The film isn’t about spending all your paper route money on the best, newest, sexiest clothes. It isn’t about pushing up the girls and covering your face in makeup so you can slowly walk down a flight of stairs and make Freddie Prinze Jr. fall in love with you at first (made-over) sight. It isn’t even about taking down the high school Queen Bee or having all the best snappy responses in social situations.

The DUFF is about finding your worth by embracing and loving yourself exactly as you are. By allowing the romance at the end to resolve itself in a way that shows that the self-love it preaches is the sexiest thing someone can “wear,” The DUFF delivers on its promise wholeheartedly. And it does it so well, I’ll even forgive the unrealistic expectations Bianca sets by eloquently telling off the school bully and then making out with her new boyfriend in the journalism room (aka, every romantic fantasy I had in high school).

No one truly knows what is going on in someone’s mind. And trust me, you don’t wanna know. It will scare you, it will or possibly can haunt you in your dreams and nightmares!

It’s time we inspire healthier yet positive change by telling our stories and sharing our own gained education and knowledge from those experiences in our lives to help give hope to the hopeless ones.

To help save the lives who are at risk, those who are mentally ill and need all the help and hope they need and deserve!

Demi Lovato Explains Why Talking About Mental Health Is Important

Why have I been wearing green on my toes, finger nails & clothing? Because of the fact that it helps support mentally ill people and everything else it has been known for.

And my reason to myself that’s behind why I wear green; because it helps me remind myself of all the hard work I did throughout my recovery and all I’ve been through with my mental health issues and also how far I’ve come today from when I started recovering and even when I was still suffering from my depression.

It makes me confident, proud, happy and accomplished that I have done something meaningful for myself and the feeling of that is truly amazing.

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Advocating For Mental Health

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.