Let us introduce you: Nikola Stojanow

The CEO of AE Ventures reveals his daily schedule and what motivates and inspires him

AE Ventures
AE Ventures
4 min readAug 12, 2019

--

Short introduction: who are you and what do you do at ae Ventures?
My name is Nikola and I’m the CBO of æternity blockchain and the CEO of AE Ventures.

How does a normal working day at AE Ventures look like for you?
Usually, my day starts off at around 7:30am, when I take some time to look at what has happened overnight, answer a couple of emails and check what my day is going to look like. Following a good breakfast, I usually coordinate with my management team, how they are, what they are doing and if they have any issues or updates. Afterwards, I get to do some daily work, before heading into the office around 10. I have told my team to not waste any time in rush hour traffic and to rather get some good rest, to be able to perform better and not be cranky in the office.
Depending on my schedules, I spent the day in the office or out on calls and meetings, or fly around the world, to promote æternity, find new business opportunities, meet new people and speak at conferences.
When I’m at the office, I tend to work until the evening, before catching some dinner and then it’s back to work. All in all, whilst writing this, I realize that I spend too much time working, but I do love what I do and with whom I am able to work, so I wouldn’t want to change that for anything in the world.
Between 10 pm and 12pm, I wind down with some family time or meeting friends or play some video games. This allows me to divert my attention a bit and to focus on my social life.

On the Final Demo Day of Starfleet 2

What inspires you to work at AE Ventures?
Well, besides the fact that I founded AE Ventures, for me the opportunity to build up companies and projects, supporting them to become better and grow, plus, running Starfleet on 4 continents, giving the opportunity to entrepreneurs to realize their dreams, gives me new inspiration, every day.

What is your favorite part of the job?
To see how the people around me grow and succeed.

What is your favorite way to wind down? How do you recharge?
When things get too crazy, my wife is the person that tells me that its time to hit the breaks for a bit and then we to go to more remote locations, where I don’t have Internet access, so that I can take 2–3 days, to recharge.

Nikola with his wife in Wadi Rum Desert, Jordan

Where is your favorite place in the world?
Home with family and with friends! And Thailand, damn I love Thailand!

Which individuals, living or dead, would you like to eat dinner with the most?
There are a lot of people that I would love to meet and have dinner with, but at the moment I am blessed to have the opportunity to be surrounded by incredible people from all around the world, that I think I am good for the moment.

Besides this, I am fortunate enough to be able to have dinner with my parents from time to time, which I count as incredibly important.

Nikola with Steve Wozniak during an event in London

What is your secret talent?
I tend to see how people will react before they know themselves.

What superpower would you like to have?
Granting wishes

What is your favorite emoji?
Easy, U+1F926 (face palm).

Thank you, Boss!

Want to learn more about the AE Ventures team? Follow us on your favorite Social Media:

--

--

AE Ventures
AE Ventures

AE Ventures is an investment company providing initial funding, acceleration, and advisory support to blockchain startups. Also running Starfleet accelerator