Nonbinary Identity Is a Radical Stance Against Gender Segregation

A world segregated into male and female categories feels suffocating. Nonbinary identity is a radical escape hatch.

Aeon Magazine
Aeon Magazine

--

Photo courtesy of the author

By Robin Dembroff

Recently, I found myself at London Stansted Airport, travelling back to the United States. I’m a frequent flyer, so I’m familiar with the airport ritual: shoes, laptop, body scanner. But for myself and many others, the final instalment of this liturgy tends to become a social test. As usual, I braced myself and stepped into the scanner.

‘Arms like this… Anything in your pockets? Stand still.’ As the security agent stepped back to the controller, she looked up. Gender panic rose in her face. Her eyes desperately tried to undress me: female or male? Pink or blue button? (Yes, pink or blue.) ‘Female,’ I sighed, but the Plexiglas muffled my voice. ‘Female!’ I yelled. ‘The pink button!’ Other travellers froze, expecting a scene, but the agent’s face lit up. ‘I thought you were a woman!’ she announced triumphantly. She jabbed the button featuring a pink stick figure: vagina; female; woman.

As someone who is gender nonbinary, I’ve gathered hundreds of these stories. Some are funny, others vicious. Despite a widespread assumption that everyone fits into neat…

--

--

Aeon Magazine
Aeon Magazine

Aeon asks the big questions and finds the freshest, most original answers, provided by leading thinkers on science, philosophy, society and the arts.